• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[General] Item Balance Basics

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 13
Hi hivers,

i want to balance my items in my map. I want to calaculate the gol values for all items and i want to try to compare items to make them fair.

Example:

Item 1: +100 HP = Gold ???
Item 2: +75 Mana = Gold?
Item 3: +9STR = Gold?
Item 4: +10% Attack Speed
Item 5: +32 Damage and 8% chance that a meteor falls from sky and damage nearby enemy units

That are some fictiv items and my question is HOW TO CALCULATE the gold price.

You know what i want to do?

Are their formulars to calculate the prices?!?

Reg.

Last edited:
Level 3
I am no pro at balancing items but i learned alot through experience on how to balance almost anything by creating tons of custom heroes.

I don't really think there is a formula but more that you create one for your designed map taking in account different aspects:
-PVP/PvE map -this is the biggest concern than it splits into 2:

PVP:-how long do you intend to keep a map : 10-20 min/40-50/1 hour or more?
-how much money do the players receive (EX:how much you win by killing a mob or doing a side quest,or killing a hero)

Pve:-is it a -save/-load map
-do you want the people to grind or not for gold

And all in all for both of them in general cases you can use(although its not the magical formula for everything and is subject to change in different cases)

HP=Mana, how much you spend on an hp item should be as much spend on an mana item.