1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll is up! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Is it my imagination or graphics change

Discussion in 'StarCraft I & II' started by MGCǂSpectre, Mar 8, 2010.

  1. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    like every new patch or so.

    Im entering as usual and while clicking on buildings I look closely and im like 'what the? this didnt look like that last week'. I dont have screenshots of how they looked weeks ago but if I acquire an old Screenshot that I made, I'll show you and prove also for myself that there are indeed graphic changes, things werent so last week,

    In the past I dont remember the construction effects of Protoss looking like that on the pic, they looked more like the old energy vortex. even the Nexus crystal looks different.

    Let me find an old screenshot of the battlecruiser's attack and you will see 3 different versions of missiles, I do notice there is a change in the graphics and not because I use diff settings.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2010
  2. Reaper2008

    Reaper2008

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1,117
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Of course the graphics are subject to change. The beta will be improved in all ways, not just stability & gameplay.
     
  3. Tleno

    Tleno

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,783
    Resources:
    2
    StarCraft II Resources:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    They changed lots of things in WC3 beta too you know - like first the steam tank had a huge mace instead of a cannon...
     
  4. Hero_Lief

    Hero_Lief

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,123
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    A mace?
    EXPORT THESE MODELS AND THEIR TEXTURES.
    WE NEED TO KEEP OLD THINGS FOR PURE REFERENCE.
    Just like we should have with this "mace tank".
     
  5. Deolrin

    Deolrin

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    7,229
    Resources:
    57
    Models:
    48
    Icons:
    6
    Packs:
    2
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    57
  6. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    I only know that Steam Tank used to have a load ability, kinda like transporter tank but I've never seen it with a morningstar, wow. And i've played war3 beta. If you compare the 1st SC2 pictures from 2007 and those now, you will see how silly you would consider those in 2007, coz ofc there is a change since then and a quite obvious one. However, when I mean changes, I dont mean 2007 and 2010, Im aware of the improved textures but now week by week the grahpics changed just these weeks.
     
  7. JimBob

    JimBob

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Those 2007 SC2 graphics were just a notch above WC3. They're so much better now and more detailed as well.
     
  8. Bloody_Turds

    Bloody_Turds

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,266
    Resources:
    16
    Models:
    14
    Packs:
    1
    Tools:
    1
    Resources:
    16
    ive got a copy of the first mpq, and the current beta one, anything that was added, and then removed between the 2 someone else will need to get.
    Cant upload now, but maybe after sc2 is released to the public :)
     
  9. Alfagar

    Alfagar

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,312
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Lulz, maybe u just didn't watch how the effect ends, the first time.
     
  10. MGCǂSpectre

    MGCǂSpectre

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,007
    Resources:
    2
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    See? I knew there was a change. However the reason for it is not 'imporvement' but the latest patch explains it:

    http://forums.battle.net/thread.html?topicId=23094049316&sid=5000

    1. Old 2. New.
    Both were made at High graphics that was causing it, not because 1. was medium textures and 2. is high. As you can see a huge difference cause of the bug. 1 more comparison is coming up soon.
     

    Attached Files: