• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Im new but i need help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
3
im new to this forum if this isnt the right place move it please :thumbs_up:
(wow lol i like the smilies! XD) in my map im trying to make enemy soldiers attack move to a point that i need to defend but they dont come i send a guy over there and they are all bunched up my code is

event: time Pedeodic event (cant spell it)
(every 15 seconds of game time)
Action: (spawn 10 Riflemen for player 2 (blue) at (blue spawn)
(seprate catagory folder thing)
Action: (Unit group) Select all units in (blue spawn) and attack move to (red spawn) i dont understand whats wrong with it?

(help appreciated :grin: )
 
Level 3
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
13
Im new aswell im making my first map :)

what i do in the event that they become bunched i do a trigger like this

Event
Every 15.00 Seconds
Action
Create 1 Footman for player 2 at (reagon)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to Point

and just use it over and over again it makes them move by there own iniative but i have a wait trigger in between all of my sreate and move actions so there in more of a line and also i would make an reagon array and make them move to random points in the place your mant to defend makes them more real
 
Events
Every 15.00 Seconds

Actions
Create 1 Riflemen for player 2 at (region)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to (region)
wait 0.10 seconds.
Create 1 Riflemen for player 2 at (region)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to (region)
wait 0.10 seconds.
Create 1 Riflemen for player 2 at (region)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to (region)
wait 0.10 seconds.
Create 1 Riflemen for player 2 at (region)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to (region)
wait 0.10 seconds.
Create 1 Riflemen for player 2 at (region)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to (region)
wait 0.10 seconds.

etc...
etc...
etc...

I use this code in most of my spawn triggers
 
Level 5
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
120
Ok here is another way of doing things...

Events
Every 15.00 Seconds

Actions
Create 100 Riflemen for player 2 at random point in (region)

Next category
Events
A unit enters (region)
Conditions
Unit is equal to "Rifleman" (Boolean comparison I believe)
Actions
Order unit Patrol to (other region)


That pretty much sums it up from the top of my head, if I were doing this from home and not from the library, I could give you a better tutorial.
Good Luck!
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
events
every 15 secs
actions
for each integer a from 1 to 100 do actions:
set l = random point in Blueregion
create 1 rifleman for player 2 at l
call RemoveLocation (udg_l)
set l = random point in Redregion
issue last created unit to attack-move to l
call RemoveLocation (udg_l)

That will cause major bugs since it will spawn 100 untis every 15 seconds which wil loverload the pathing system of wc3 causing them to stand idle and not function corectly.

try
events
every 0.15 secs
actions
set l = random point in Blueregion
create 1 rifleman for player 2 at l
call RemoveLocation (udg_l)
set l = random point in Redregion
issue last created unit to attack-move to l
call RemoveLocation (udg_l)

since that will not create 100 units every 15 secs it will create 1 unit every 0.15 secs and thus it will allow that unit 0.15 secs of time to culculate pathing but anyway, WHO THE HELL NEEDS 100 UNITS EVERY 15 SECS?

With so many the game will lag in 1 minute and in 6 minutes the game will become a snail and in 15 minutes it will most lightly crash. . .
 
Level 7
Joined
Dec 20, 2006
Messages
348
Im new aswell im making my first map :)

what i do in the event that they become bunched i do a trigger like this

Event
Every 15.00 Seconds
Action
Create 1 Footman for player 2 at (reagon)
Unit - Make Last Created Unit Move to Point

and just use it over and over again it makes them move by there own iniative but i have a wait trigger in between all of my sreate and move actions so there in more of a line and also i would make an reagon array and make them move to random points in the place your mant to defend makes them more real

WTF??? how are you new?????? you joined in 2004!!
 
Last edited:
Hahaha i tried using loop for creating 500 units...laggs my new computer like hell....wats the optimum limit of active units in a map for a regular computer? I want to make total war type maps, but im scared wc3 will lag like hell....

Sometime I was tryed to make an aos of great batles

I was tryed to put 800 humans to fight against 800 orcs, totaly unplayable.

I was tryed to put 300 humans to fight against 300 orcs, this is lagged, but can be playable with minimum grapichs, and shadows disabled.
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,258
At most 1200 should be ingame at ANY TIME and that is at a huge sized map.
Half of thoes units should do nothing and the other half should have slowish attack rate.

Well I hope this helps since im sure even 1200 units is far to much to have with any proper triggering though in normal melee it should be fine since melee is made to have up to 12 players with 100 food each.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top