• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

I need triggers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 5
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
124
Hi. Im working on a 1v1 project called "Dungeon Battles". There is supposed to be destructibles (rocks only) all over the map but my map is epic sized so that means that i have to go to the doodad palette and starting waste my time bu creating rocks and you have no idea how difficult that is on a... well... "not fast enough" computer. Is there any trigger that can help me to create those destructibles? OPS! I also need 2 specific start locations so i need 2 spots that doesnt contain rocks.

  • Events
    • Map instalisation
  • Conditions
    • (Map) is equal to fun
  • Actions
    • Destructible- create a (lot of destructibles (type- (rock)) all over (the entire map)
  • Reasons
    • (Because) i want (rocks all over (the entire map)) (because) (i need it)
 
hmm, well i don't know about triggers, but in the map editor you can place multiple doodads at once by selecting the doodad you want to place and clicking the size button thing at the bottom of the doodad window. Oh yeah, for a trigger, make it so Map Initilization, creat x amount of -destructible- in playable map area. Than have another tirgger that is Map initialization, wait 1 second -remove all -destructible- in area1 (Player 1 start area) and area2 (player 2's start area). YEAH! glad to help
 
Level 25
Joined
May 11, 2007
Messages
4,650
In the trigger editor:

Event - Every X second
Condition: IntegerDoodadRocks Equal to less than X (maybe 100?)
Action - Destrciuble - Create 1 rock in random position in region [entire map]
Set Variable IntegerDoodadRocks = IntegerDoodadRocks +1
It could work. Just make sure you use a faded screen, or everything might lagg ya to hell.
 
Level 5
Joined
Aug 23, 2008
Messages
124
HI. This is kinda off topic but... im trying to make a triggered autocast ability that gives resources to the caster. Ive tried to make a custom ability that is based on Heal but doesnt do anything that affects units but it doesnt want to be casted. When i target a unit it says that "The Targeted Unit Is Allready At Full Health" even if da spell doesnt heal. How do i make the spell cast without targets?
 
Level 28
Joined
Mar 25, 2008
Messages
2,955
HI. This is kinda off topic but... im trying to make a triggered autocast ability that gives resources to the caster. Ive tried to make a custom ability that is based on Heal but doesnt do anything that affects units but it doesnt want to be casted. When i target a unit it says that "The Targeted Unit Is Allready At Full Health" even if da spell doesnt heal. How do i make the spell cast without targets?
Use a no-target spell?
Shockwave, Crushing wave and stuff
 
Level 7
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
255
NO NO NO, in world editor create lots of rocks select them, do ctrl c and then ctrl v and voila you can place exactly the same amount of rocks wherever you want without moving the original ones. Hope it helps and if it does then we focus on GETTING ME OUT OF SCHOOL!.
 
Level 7
Joined
Jun 20, 2007
Messages
255
Not really, there are wc3 mods and such like WE but they are NOT recommended because they can excuse me ''fuck up'' everything, and make your map inplayable.
 
Level 24
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
942
u can make over max destructible amount of destructibles by placing them with triggers.

if u want them in rows i think this will work:

  • Events:
  • Map Initialization
  • Actions:
  • Unit Group - Pick every unit of type Farm and do Multiple Actions:
    • Set PointVariable = Position of [Picked Unit]
    • Unit - Remove [Picked Unit]
    • For each Integer A from 1 to 100 do:
      • Destructible - Create Destructible in PointVariable
      • Set PointVariable to [PointVariable offset 100 towards 0 degrees]
that should create a row from every farm. i dont have w3 on this comp so i cant test it :l

the PointVariable is not hard to make. just make a variable and choose "point" from the list. it doesnt have to be array or anything.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top