1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

i am a noobie at skins!

Discussion in 'Texturing & Surfacing' started by BaNaNa, Aug 6, 2004.

  1. Sopho

    Sopho

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,340
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    5
    Icons:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    For skinning, you need wc3 viewer to convert the .tga/.jpg/.bmp to .blp...

    Sincr your using mac, I don't think that will help you... There are some blp tools in the tools section though.
     
  2. BaNaNa

    BaNaNa

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    thx but where r those tools???
     
  3. Sopho

    Sopho

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,340
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    5
    Icons:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
  4. BaNaNa

    BaNaNa

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ugh im bak from soccer practice
    ok sopho ill try it maybe itll have mac tools thx alot!
     
  5. BaNaNa

    BaNaNa

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    arrrrrrrrrrrghhhhhhhhhhh :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:
    it doesnt work for the skins...
    do i no how to make a skin into a model any1 plz tell me!!! :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:
     
  6. Sopho

    Sopho

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    3,340
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    5
    Icons:
    8
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    A skin automatically applies itself to the model it is for (with correct path of course)
     
  7. BaNaNa

    BaNaNa

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    :? :? :? :? :? uhhhhhhhh my editor doesnt do that so im telling u taht the editor accepts models not plain old skins
     
  8. HeldderWelt

    HeldderWelt

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    1. you can't convert a skin into a model. these are two different things
    2. if you import a model, you also have to import a skin to apply to the model. the model is the "flesh" of the character/unit/hero/building and the skin is the colouring of the model (thus its name).

    now try using a different skin for the same model (there are plenty of those here at wc3search). if it doesnt work and you're sure you did everything right, then i suggest to reinstall warcraft, because in that case your editor would be broken/corrupted or something like that.