1. A slave to two rhythms, the 22nd Terraining Contest is here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The heavens smile on the old faithful. The 16th Techtree Contest has begun.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The die is cast - the 6th Melee Mapping Contest results have been announced. Onward to the Hive Cup!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The glory of the 20th Icon Contest is yours for the taking!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Shoot to thrill, play to kill. Sate your hunger with the 33rd Modeling Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Do you hear boss music? It's the 17th Mini Mapping Contest!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

How to change map preview?

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by BertTheJasser, Jun 26, 2005.

  1. BertTheJasser

    BertTheJasser

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I know this sounds really nooby, but if I import my picture and change the naame to "war3mappreview.tga" (without " ") a white preview appears.

    Why?
    I don't know ?
    I hope you can help me.

    Thx. :?
     
  2. Angelusz

    Angelusz

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    634
    Resources:
    2
    Maps:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Imported previews must have the following specs:

    - .tga format
    - 128x128 or 256x256 Dimensions
    - Saved in 32-bit format

    Save the file like that (i use photoshop for it myself) then import it and rename it to war3mappreview.tga and it should work.
     
  3. eXciTe

    eXciTe

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Resources:
    7
    Models:
    5
    Icons:
    2
    Resources:
    7
  4. Daminon

    Daminon

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,055
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    The first time I used costum minimap preview I got error messages when I tried to play the map. I was able to solve that by right after I imported the image, save the map with another name so you have a backup. Then close the map in the editor and then open it again. Don't test the map just after imprting the image. Save and close first. Otherwise you might get errors like I did.
     
  5. BertTheJasser

    BertTheJasser

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thx.

    I'll test it in a few hours.