1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The raddest synthwave tracks were chosen - Check out our Music Contest #12 - Results and congratulate the winners!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The poll for Hive's 12th Concept Art Contest is up! Go cast your vote for your favourite genie!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Travel to distant realms and encounter scenes unknown to the common folk. The Greatest of Adventures is upon us with the 8th Cinematic Contest. Join in on a fun ride.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 18th Icon Contest is ON! Choose any ingame unit and give him/her Hero abilities. Good luck to all.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Contestants are to create a scene set in the Stone Age. Come and see what you can come up with. We wish you the best of luck!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Colour outside the lines! Techtree Contest #13 is a go. The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Greetings cerebrates, our Swarm needs new spawners that will have numerous children. Join the HIVE's 31st Modeling Contest - Spawners and Spawned! The contest is optionally paired.
    Dismiss Notice
  10. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Hero Selection Systems

Discussion in 'Trigger (GUI) Editor Tutorials' started by Eleandor, Aug 20, 2007.

  1. Metralex

    Metralex

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    very helpfull tutorial.
    I'll use any of them in my little project.

    :infl_thumbs_up:
    +rep
     
  2. Reinze

    Reinze

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Nice tutorial......:thumbs_up::thumbs_up::thumbs_up:
    very useful.....:thumbs_up:

    But, can u tell me how to make all other unit than the selected get removed from the tavern for the owner of (sold unit).. coz it's still stuck in that tavern...


    Woops.. almost forgot!!! +rep
     
  3. thereallywhitekid

    thereallywhitekid

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Man, you are just so awesome!
    I totally needed this tutorial,
    especially when I was making
    my map before I gave up on it.

    Thanks anyways. Just like
    everyone else, I'll give you a
    +rep!
     
  4. Dr.Who_4400_GR

    Dr.Who_4400_GR

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I learn Double Clicking Choose System System. You rock 5/5
     
  5. Panda-Assassin

    Panda-Assassin

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    is there a demo map for this?? i'm quite new to this :confused:
     
  6. Xemnas

    Xemnas

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hey thanks for this! i added the circle pick and works perfect :)
     
  7. ChaosKnight

    ChaosKnight

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Resources:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Can you post me a little tutorial how to do a custom spell?
    BTW, it was VERY VERY GOOD!!!!!
     
  8. omnislash_1992

    omnislash_1992

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Question

    Vey good Tutorial but I search for a trigger that allow user (computer user) choose a random hero from tavern automatically after 35 seconds (without typing any chat massage)
    if you know this please write this trigger for me in this page!
    Thanks :):cool:
     
  9. Tharky

    Tharky

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    There is another system with no next,previous buttons. You select your hero with clicking its icon and camera locks your hero's cam.
     
  10. Addicted07

    Addicted07

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    152
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    THanks for the Tavern Tutorial! but they seem to spawn at the same location whether it is yours or the enemy's hero... how can I change it?
     
  11. Xx Rome xX

    Xx Rome xX

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    51
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Excellent Tutorial

    This tutorial is one of the best I have ever seen. If I were a mod, and it was up to me wether this was aproved or not, I wouldn't hesitate. +rep :thumbs_up:
     
  12. SomeNightElf

    SomeNightElf

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Just to save everyones buts, you can at least put:
    Name: DialogButton
    Type: Dialog Button
    Array Size:[Number of heroes you want]
    Your tutorial is perfect, but its realy complicated, just like me and spelling-47.50 grade

    Edit:Frogot to give +rep
     
  13. Hellmane357

    Hellmane357

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Help needed!

    I Really just started World editor and tried to do the Hero Tavern and im stuck here.

    I got no idea how to do this:
    (Selling unit) Equal to Tavern 0000 <gen>

    And for the hero part:
    Set Tavern1Heroes[1] = Paladin (Tavern)
    Set Tavern1Heroes[2] = Archmage (Tavern)
    Set Tavern1Heroes[3] = Mountain King (Tavern)
    Set Tavern1Heroes[4] = Blood Mage (Tavern)

    I dont seem to have the (Tavern) word behind it. i only got the name.
    Really need help, totally new to this.
    Thanks alot :)
     
  14. Mog_Noob

    Mog_Noob

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Okay, i used dialogs for my hero picking i have a random bottom but ive tested it always picked the same unit can you plz put the trigger layout for a random hero pick dialog botton plzz ^_^
     
  15. Animoi666

    Animoi666

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    428
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Good job :thumbs_up:

    :infl_thumbs_up: nice coverage of alot of possible hero selections, i guess i should have followed the tutorial earlier because i was doing all kind of weird :ugly:stuff to make my hero selection operateble....

    (i made a power circle buy a certain item and depending on item bought it would create a unit and delete buying unit.. pretty much the same as your tavern except its with items ^^ )


    +rep given 5/5
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2010
  16. karlk32

    karlk32

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Can someone tell me how to clear away that freakin start Town hall/stronghold/tree of life/ necropolis????
     
  17. Gopa

    Gopa

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Extended Dialog Menu

    first i have to say... realy great and nice tutorial! :thumbs_up:

    i start working with the worldeditor/triggering this week and i can follow your tutorial quite easy & everything is clear :grin: (well i read other basic tutorials first... like how to start triggers ect. but i think thats clear)

    :fp: Good Job!!! & get it up

    but i find a bug in the extended dialog menu, maybe someone could help me with that ?:confused:

    if you test the extended dialog menu -> click on "Next Page", everything should be fine atm... but if you klick now on "Previous Page" the titel dialog of "EDialog1" will disappear. in this order now also the titel of "EDialog2" will disappear if you klick agan on "Next Page"!

    i used some more stages like edialog1-8, probably all the titels disappear if i go back to the "main-stage"... i used the titels for herodiscripion & it quit sucks that i can only read them one time...

    hope someone can help me with my problem :cry:

    iam quit a noob... pls remember that :wink:
     
  18. Bloodsplintzy

    Bloodsplintzy

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Resources:
    1
    Icons:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Could someone please make a Next/Previous system for me, can't seem to figure it out, allways bugg's for me ):
     
  19. knight_godryu

    knight_godryu

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Hi also want to say that i cant find the circle of power...i can only find it if im in neutral passive and not in any player (color) pls tell me why :(
     
  20. knight_godryu

    knight_godryu

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    thats quite simple i think...all you need to do (well i guess so this is what i did) is change the name and add (tavern) to the names of the heroes :D