1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

HELP

Discussion in 'Modeling & Animation' started by [AvsP]PREDATOR, Nov 18, 2004.

  1. [AvsP]PREDATOR

    [AvsP]PREDATOR

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    SOMEONE HELP :shock: :shock: :shock: I can not strt editing models itried everything patches egnore me they simply don't werk!!!!!!!! i tried getting everything i could.Whould you be so kind as to give me an adress of server that has what irealy need or simply give me an advice :lol: [/b]
     
  2. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Experiment. Experiment. Experiment

    Just try around with the modeling programs you have until either

    A: You figure out how to do good things
    B: You accidently blow up your computer

    ... You're sorta screwed if B happans though <_<
     
  3. Ryxian

    Ryxian

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    you should try Gmax, YouGul's File Converter, And Wc3 Viewer.
     
  4. [AvsP]PREDATOR

    [AvsP]PREDATOR

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I HAVE g-max and loaded patches i saw in the net but none of them werk. I also ha 3ds max 4.2 & 2.5 maybe some of them are better???
     
  5. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    You have 3DS Max 4.2? You sir are in LUCK. Download the Art Tools and install them, they work for 3DS Max 4.2 and 5. Then have some experimentation, read the tutorials and then see what you come up with in the end.
     
  6. Ryxian

    Ryxian

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what are art tools? what do i do in that?
     
  7. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    The Art Tools are a patch for 3DS Max 4.2 and 5. They give you an exporter, an importer and a whole lot of other stuff
     
  8. Ryxian

    Ryxian

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What are "3DS Max 4.2"


    and Meachon you have still not answear my question: How i bind verticles?
     
  9. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    I forgot how to bind verticies, but the correct term is creating a face. I know it involves clicking on the three different verticies you want to make the face with, then doing SOMETHING to make the face

    3DS Max 4.2 is a version of 3DS Max can use the Art Tools
     
  10. Ryxian

    Ryxian

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    okay... but if i have a head without a nose... and i want to add a nose.. then i create the verticles i need and then i should make it to a face??
     
  11. Mecheon

    Mecheon

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    4,975
    Resources:
    10
    Models:
    10
    Resources:
    10
    Faces only go by three verticies, so you have to click the three, join them, click the next three, join them

    There might be an easier way, but I don't know it
     
  12. Ryxian

    Ryxian

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    okay thanks...

    this shall look like a nose. Shall i make the right 3 verticles a face and the left 3 verticles a face?? but how do i bind them to the head?

    ----.

    -.--.--.

    dont think about the lines ( - )