• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Hello Editors.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hello, Hive editors, so im making a map and i want to make, like a region, and inside that region units get stunned at random. Can someone help me out figuring this one out?
I can't seem to find the random number generator, and im not that good with variables.

Level 9
Hi, so.

As always there are different ways to do things, ill tell you how i would do it.

First of all let's see what things you need.

1. A region
2. A "dummy caster".
3. Custom Stun spell.
4. (Optional) A timer.
5. A Unit group.

1. To make a region simply switch to region tab in the editor. You can open the Region tool, Layers>Regions., or press R. Create a new region into the world space.

2. Dummy Caster. A dummy caster is basically a unit that is invulnerable and invisible whos only purpose is to cast the stun spell. To create it i suggest to find a toutorial or a thread on the site. But basically open the Unit Layers, create a new unit based on a critter. Set the unit model none, give him immune ability, locus ability, and increase the mana points and mana regen.

3. Custom spell is the one that the Dummy caster uses on units. You want to base it on strombolt(single target stun) or stomp(area sun) based on what kind of stun you want. You can set all the variables of the spell yourself based on your needs, like duration of the stun, visual effects and so on. MAKE SURE to add the custom spell to the abilities of the Dummy Caster once you finished making it.