• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

General Questions about Modeling

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello!

I'm still kinda new to the World Editor, but I've seen some fantastic custom models on here and I'd love to see if I could make anything good. But I have some general questions about modeling.

First, what programs do you need to do it? And second, how long does it take to make a decent model with team colors and animations and all of that? I'm curious if I'm looking at something that takes like 8 hours or 8 weeks! If anyone can just answer these little questions for me, I'd be very happy :grin:

Last edited by a moderator:
Level 25
I use 3Ds max 5 for model and animation, photoshop for the texture (if i don't use ingame textures).
It depends on your skills. If you're new to this stuff it will take a lot of time for you to learn everything first.. Also it depends on you free time. If you don't go to school or you don't work you can finish in just few days if you have skills (model, animations and texture).
You can also do model edits like just mesh editing or just texture or animations. (you can do this in hours)
Read the sticky's in the Modeling and animation forum for more information.

Level 5
Once you learn the program it is pretty easy to do things. You could use 3ds max, milkshape, and I think I heard gmax had plugins. gmax is basically 3ds max but free.
Took me about 6 hours to make and texture and animate some of my starship trooper models. Guess it really depends on how organized you are and how good you can do things your first time. As in not having to go back and fix stuff.

Level 15