• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Floating Text over building that produces resources.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to the editor, that being said I'm only using features available within the editor, I don't use custom scripts or anything.

My goal at the moment is to have certain types of buildings produce income periodically and have floating text that displays the amount of income gained. I have a trigger set up that does this just fine, but I can't seem to get the floating text to display above said building(s).

My problem is that I'm not sure which floating text option to choose to make multiple of the same building show the income ticks. Example: I've made a Bank structure that produces 50 gold every 10 seconds, and I'd like every bank controlled by each player to display a quick +50g in text above the building momentarily then fades away or just goes away after a second.

Hopefully that makes sense, thanks guys.

Level 24
First you create a texttag.
Then you set the visibility to true.
Then you set the fading age and lifespan to your preference. (fading age is when he starts fading and lifespan is the total duration.)

You have to do that for every building for every player...
You could do a unit group loop for every unit of each player and then check if their unit type corresponds to your income structure.

Level 9