1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Ride into the sunset with the 32nd Modeling Contest. The contest is optionally paired. Best of luck, people!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. This adventure has come to an end. Congratulate our heroes in the 16th Mini Mapping Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. From the gates of hell, the 5th Special Effect Contest Results have emerged.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Flames

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by Rethon, Dec 2, 2008.

  1. Rethon

    Rethon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    how do i made a trigger for when a unit enters region it starts getting damage
    ive made this spot with fire in it and i want to make trigger damage unit in region
     
  2. cheesdude

    cheesdude

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    480
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Event - unit enters region x

    action -- deal x damage to unit (I don't remember the exact wording because i don't have WE installed anymore. I believe the damage thing is in generic or specific unit events.)

    Make sure you have the region.
     
  3. KYTON

    KYTON

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    428
    Resources:
    2
    Models:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    2
    How about having a timer that deals damage to all units in the area every second? That would work.
     
  4. Rethon

    Rethon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    explain how to do it?
    or post a example
     
  5. Zenerik

    Zenerik

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    cheesdude,I believe Rethon was talking about damage over time, or damage per second. In that case, your trigger won't work since it's instant damage.

    To Rethon, this trigger is actually pretty simple but in my way you'll use 2 trigger instead of one. The first one is the "enter the region" thingy, I'm pretty sure you've known that already.:grin:

    The second trigger, first you should create a variable type "Unit Group" (not an array) and name it "BurningUnit" or whatever you want. That group will determine which unit is burned and which is not.
    Now back to the first trigger, in the action part, do it like this: Unit Enter Region ---> Action: Put that unit into the unit group you just created ( i don't have WE right now so you'll have to find it out yourself,:con: )

    Again with the 2nd trigger, this is what make your unit take damage, do this:
    _ Event: Every 1 ( or else ) second of game time ( the Periodic Event thingy )
    _ Action: Unit - Set [unit match condition [belongs to the BurningUnit Group]]'s HP to [Current Hp - [damage]]

    Or an alternative action: Unit - Cause [some unit] to deal [X] damage to [unit in the BurningUnit Group].

    There you go then, any unit enter the region should take some damage every second. Sorry for some confusions cause by the lack of WE.:grin:
     
  6. cool_is_i

    cool_is_i

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    or, you could just create a dummy unit, and give it permanent immolation and locust.
    Locust = cannot be selected
    Immolation = dmg over time, adn you can edit the spells dmg values.

    so you just place the dummy unit in the flaming area :)

    much simpler
     
  7. Zenerik

    Zenerik

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0


    Good thinking, I ( and maybe Rethon ) was talking about trigger, but you have the great and creative way to do it. Nice.

    One thing, if the burning area is a circle, then we can put only 1 dummy and set the AOE based on the area's size. But if the terrain is much more complicated, then we must put in more and even more dummy, which cause more memory usage. Too much memory usage cause lag. My way, which may seems complicated in words, is simple and short in triggers. There'll be 2 triggers each have like, 2 lines, 1 for event, 1 for action. And a simple variable.
     
  8. Rethon

    Rethon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    what i mean is kinda like a cloak of flames or immolation
    that if a unit/ship is in the region with the flames it gets damaged as if its a cloak of flames get it?
     
  9. Zenerik

    Zenerik

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    We got your point. Both cool_is_i's and my way would work for you. Feel free to use them.
     
  10. TheBlooddancer

    TheBlooddancer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,908
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    I think he really is newbish. I dont know if he even bothered to read your posts.

    Just do as they said, and make a footman, give him the ability 'Locust' and 'Permanent immolotion'.
    That way, you cant select the footman, and units near him will get dmg.

    Then set his model to '.mdl' so that you cant see him.
     
  11. cool_is_i

    cool_is_i

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    505
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    7
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    8
    yep,
    exactly what i mean.
     
  12. Rethon

    Rethon

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    i dont get what u mean I DID read posts
     
  13. DarkAngelAzazel

    DarkAngelAzazel

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,308
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Oh looool.... Before making a map and asking such questions you should really read a beginners tutorial or something like that.

    Dummy unit: A unit which model was set to (custom path) a model which does not exist. So the unit will have NO model. (example model: NONE.mdl)

    Then the unit gets the abilty LOCUST which will make it invul, unselectable.
    Then you add the immolation to that unit. (you should remove the imo effect)
    Then you place the unit in the center of that area.
    Then you make sure the owner is neutral hostile.

    THEN YOU ARE HAPPY!!!

    (I would remove the shadow of the unit as well)
     
  14. Zenerik

    Zenerik

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    He wants triggers, I gave him triggers, and now, Rethon doesn't even understands the triggers (I apologize for describing triggers in such complicated way). So he wants something like Cloak of Flames or Immolation, and cool_is_i gave him that. Still he doesn't understand?

    @Rethon: you really need to have some research on tutorials and the WE itself. Try creating things and see what it turns out. You'll be good someday.
     
  15. darkrider

    darkrider

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    780
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    @Zenerik there is a bug in your trigger... you forgot to remove the entering unit from damage group when leaving the region :p

    that would mean another trigger

    unit leaves region

    unit is in damage group equal to true

    remove leaving unit from damage group
     
  16. Zenerik

    Zenerik

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thank you, but yes, I already know that, I just forgot to mention it. And I think it's not a leak after all.

    P/S: The unit will not be removed from the group because it's the GREAT ETERNAL FIRE. :grin: :grin: ok it's a joke :grin: