• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Crash] Desync - map works for v1.38, identical codebase w/ only name changed to v1.39 desyncs when I build, but no desync when other dev bumps to v1.39??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hey all, Ive recently teamed up with creator of Risk Europe to take over development on the map. Im new to map making but been in software dev for 8yrs now.

Ive browsed the forums and uncovered several possible causes for desyncs, but we uncovered something very strange last night.. with zero code/editor changes and only bumping version from 1.38 to 1.39 the other dev protects map and no desync issue occurs. If I do the exact same process on my end (bump only version and either protect myself/other dev protect) the desync issue is present.

There's several no-no's in the codebase, like GetLocalPlayer used - but its puzzeling why he can make a change that doesnt cause a crash, yet I cannot.

We're using ts->lua, and all the primary packages are the same version.. wondering if its something with my computer architecture as mentioned in one post on the forums - but this is very puzzling to me.

Has anyone experienced similar issues or have any recommendations on how to solve? Im hesitant to start modifying things like removing GetLocalPlayer if I cant even get the identical and working codebase of 1.38 to work when renamed to 1.39, yet he can just fine.. seems to be a machine issue on my end?

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64