• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Custom Damage System

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 20
Hi! I started the thread on World Editor zone - http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/world-editor-help-zone-98/custom-complex-damage-system-205277/ -, and it already helped me to start with the trigger, but now I need to optimize it, and even know how to use it :p I'm not good at all on JASS or vJASS, but I understand that this kind of stuff is a lot easier JASS.

I'm trying to make a damage system that triggers game damage, so each unit has 6 types o damage, and 5 types of resistances.

Physic Dmg - Physic Resis
Fire Dmg - Fire Res
Water Dmg - Water Res
Wind Dmg - Wind Res
Earth Dmg - Earth Res
Pure Damage <- This one has no resistance.

So, every time a unit deals damage to another unit, the trigger retrieves all the data from the unit (All the Damage data of the Attacking Unit, and All the Resistance Data from the Attacked Unit) and deals the respective damage. Resistances are just a % of reduction of the attacking unit damage.

I'm thinking of making all units in my map deal 1-1 damage and have 0 armor, since all the damage and resistances are going to be triggered.

Adding all the data this way (or a better one) to every Unit Type in the game:

JASS:
globals
    integer array UnitID
    integer array PD         // Physical Damage 
    integer array PR         // Physical Resistance
    integer array FD         // Fire Damage
    integer array FR         // Fire Resist
    integer array WaD         // Water Damage
    integer array WaR         // Water Resistance
    integer array ED         // Earth Damage
    integer array ER         // Earth Resistance