• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Creating an Arena Battle Sequence for Turn-Based Map

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hello, I am a noob map creator, and I am trying to create an 8-player, turn-based, strategy, FFA game. I am struggling to create a trigger with a ton of moving parts which will be one of the main mechanics for my map consisting of randomly selecting, indexing, and moving heroes (up to 5 per player) from a starting "staging" zone and into a random arena (1 of 4). A thorough explanation or example would be much appreciated as I have never done anything like this before (learning as I go with no background).
(This is just one of the many battle sequences, but if I'm shown how to do one, I think I can figure out the rest.)
For learning and editing purposes, please add trigger comments.

I will attach my current map to the post.

The trigger "Entering Battles Per Zone" is in the first folder on the trigger list. This is the trigger I am trying to create. So far all I've done was try to index the regions. Let me know if there is any other grunt-work for me to do to make this faster for you before you help (or just make a scaled-down example and comment if possible or preferred).
(<> stands for region in in this post)​

There are 10 sub-regions (e.g., <A1T1>, <A1T5>, <A1B2>, <A1B5>)--5 on top owned by one player, 5 on bottom owned by another player--per arena (<A1> - <A4>).
< A # (1 of 4 arenas) T (Top or Bottom) # (Hero number: 1-5 Heroes per player) >
Existing Indices: