• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Confronting Resolution w/ Larger Monitors (PC Guide)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 9
Hello Hivers!

• This basic guide will tell you how to adjust your screen resolution settings if you are running a widescreen monitor (e.g 18.5", 20", 23" etc) and your screen resolution is not supported via Warcraft 3's video options. The result will not affect the images or UI directly, but your in-game view will no longer be stretched.
• This guide is based on Windows platforms, sorry Macs (though there may be a similar solution, I have no knowledge of one for I do not use a Mac!)

WARNING!: Follow these instructions with caution, messing with certain registry values can be harmful to your system!

162343-albums4195-picture39657.jpg

a) go to Start, and type in "run" (I am using Vista in this guide) via the search bar
--
162343-albums4195-picture39658.jpg

b) in the run console, type in "regedit"
--
162343-albums4195-picture39659.jpg

c) in the registry editor, find HKEY_CURRENT_USER, and open the list
--
162343-albums4195-picture39660.jpg

d) as in step 'c', open Software then Blizzard Entertainment
--
162343-albums4195-picture39661.jpg

e) in Blizzard Entertainment, open your Warcraft III registry folder and click on "video"
--
162343-albums4195-picture39662.jpg

f) in the video registry under Warcraft III there should be two specific registry values: reswidth and resheight (see where this is going yet?)
--
162343-albums4195-picture39663.jpg