• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Armored Mordor Orc WIP

Status
Not open for further replies.
I spent a couple hours working on my first custom texture. It is a Mordor Orc from The Lord of the Rings based on the Bandit's texture. To my own surprise, it turned out better than I thought. I really enjoy using the burn and dodge techniques for the armor. I'm not sure what else to change though. Maybe the other armor details and the wood on the axe. I started playing around with colors to see what color would look best for the face. To be honest, I'm not sure how to even go about making a orcish looking face from scratch. I'll probably check out some tutorials first.

I think it looks pretty alright. I also did a small model edit. I removed the spike from the shield. Suggestions welcome. :3

Before

bandit.png

After

4brjfK5.jpg

1mg0eN3.jpg

p1V8hwg.jpg

1667-MordorOrc-08-2008.jpg

MordorOrcs.jpg

Level 4
If you're a bit lost how to go about doing the face, the way i usually do it is i start with a very dark base colour which i layout over it. I will then get a even darker colour and begin to draw in the detail of the face. After that i proceed to to build the texture up with highlights and then i'll usually go over with some additional shadows.

I hope that helps. so experiment and find what suites you best, anything will be better then a recolour. :)