1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

[JASS] AddLightning question

Discussion in 'Triggers & Scripts' started by Saishy, Feb 4, 2009.

  1. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, I'm trying to connect two units with a line, so I found this function using the search:

    Code (vJASS):
    native AddLightningEx takes string codeName, boolean checkVisibility, real x1, real y1, real z1, real x2, real y2, real z2 returns lightning
     


    But, what is that string codeName? What do I put there?
    Edit: Also what native boolean checkVisibility does?
     
  2. redscores

    redscores

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,160
    Resources:
    12
    Maps:
    5
    Spells:
    6
    Template:
    1
    Resources:
    12
    checkVisibility makes the lightning invisible if false, and the codename is the name of the lightning.
     
  3. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    I imagine CheckVisibility has to do with fog of war.

    As for the lightning names, there are two ways to get them.

    Way 1 (good for custom lightnings): check the SLK table which defines lightnings (it's called something like LightningData.slk).

    Way 2: Select the lighting effect in the "Lightning effect" field of an ability, then press Ctrl+D (View as Raw Data) and it will show the lightning name-string, which is four characters long.
     
  4. Saishy

    Saishy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    947
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Thanks both!