• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Help on creating custom HUDS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hi everyone,

I made some research on the site but can't find what I'm looking for. I would like to find a tutorial on how to create a custom UI for Warcraft Reforged. And I don't mean by that updating a skin, but creating something custom like you would see on backtowarcraft streamings (ie: see opponent win/lose stats, etc.).

I'm a game visual artist but I got basic very knowledge in programming. Is it something that requires to be an expert in coding?

Thanks!

Level 39
A familiarity with programming will make it easier but you can do what’s necessary with a little knowledge and strong intuition. @Tasyen can confirm and point you in the right direction. I would recommend skipping over JASS to learn Lua directly.

The question is quite abstract.
You don't need any complex algorithm or other advanced coding techniques, still knowing how to code and to create UIs will help. One can create dynamic Frames which benefit from advanced coding techniques but it is not required. Warcraft 3 uses something called Frame for its UI. The ingame UI-Frames of warcraft 3 are defined mostly with fdfs (Frame Definition Files), (pre Reforged also the main menu used this files).