• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Crafting/Survival Game. Questions #3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
*Note: Thank you to the community for answering my questions so far. I love the fast replies! It seems like the answers to my questions are all starting to revolve around triggers, so if this continues, I will move my future questions to the appropriate forum/sub-forum! I’m still very new to WE.

I am creating a crafting/survival game. Players will be using a basic unit most likely a peasant.
It might help to think of my game in relation to the “Wilderness Survival” game by Jay. That game has a lot of mechanics/inner workings that I need to adapt for my game...

1. At the start, I don’t want players to be able to chop trees for wood. However, after finding the right materials to craft a woodcutting axe, then I want them to be able to chop trees(or attack them), and get the items that the trees will drop. How is this done? My guess would be to remove the gather ability(i know how), and then somehow make my woodcutting axe (custom item/i know how) allow the player to attack trees(I don’t know how). I should also point out that I don’t want a player to be able to attack a tree with any other item/weapon.

2. Very-Early game, players will only have melee weapons. Super simple example, a stick (lol). How can I make this item show up as if the player is actually holding that stick?