• 💀 Happy Halloween! 💀 It's time to vote for the best terrain! Check out the entries to Hive's HD Terrain Contest #2 - Vampire Folklore.❗️Poll closes on November 14, 2023. 🔗Click here to cast your vote!
  • 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 HD Level Design Contest #1 is OPEN! Contestants must create a maze with at least one entry point, and at least one exit point. The map should be made in HD mode, and should not be openable in SD. Only custom models from Hive's HD model and texture sections are allowed. The only exceptions are DNC models and omnilights. This is mainly a visual and design oriented contest, not technical. The UI and video walkthrough rules are there to give everyone an equal shot at victory by standardizing how viewers see the terrain. 🔗Click here to enter!

where i can find 'Unit has ABILITY NAME equal to true/false'?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
310
Unfortunately there isn't something exactly as you said, but here's what you can do which is pretty much the same:

  • (Level of Cripple for (Triggering unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
This works, because if the ability level is below 1, then the unit doesn't have it.

It's not a stupid question really, although it is stupid that Blizzard didn't include a simple function for it.
 

Bannar

Code Reviewer
Level 26
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
3,140
Unfortunately there isn't something exactly as you said, but here's what you can do which is pretty much the same:

  • (Level of Cripple for (Triggering unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
This works, because if the ability level is below 1, then the unit doesn't have it.

It's not a stupid question really, although it is stupid that Blizzard didn't include a simple function for it.

thats what i have already said.
 
Level 7
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
310
thats what i have already said.

Notice I posted 2 minutes after you, I take time with my posts (not my best asset :hohum:). Therefore I didn't see you post before I posted. Otherwise I would have let it be.

Actually i found another way that works better for my situation - i used

  • (Learned Hero Skill) Equal to Flexible paws [Bear]
But thanks anyway! :)))

That's cool too. Still, if you want to do this for a regular unit, i.e. not a Hero, I think Spinnaker's and my suggestion would be better.
 
Level 14
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
1,021
Actually nothing worked! (rofl) :D my trigger is here, help?

  • Bear Flaxible paws
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
      • (Level of Flexible paws [Bear] for (Picked unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
    • Actions
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the hand, right of (Attacking unit) using Abilities\Spells\Orc\TrollBerserk\TrollBeserkerTarget.mdl
      • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
 

Bannar

Code Reviewer
Level 26
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
3,140
Actually nothing worked! (rofl) :D my trigger is here, help?

  • Bear Flaxible paws
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
      • (Level of Flexible paws [Bear] for (Picked unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
    • Actions
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the hand, right of (Attacking unit) using Abilities\Spells\Orc\TrollBerserk\TrollBeserkerTarget.mdl
      • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)


What you exactly want your trigger to do? and btw don't use 0,01 periodic, 0,03 or 0,05 is smooth enough.
You havent specify Picked unit and attacking unit.
Trigger's event is a time event so it does not know what is picked nor attcking unit.
 

Bannar

Code Reviewer
Level 26
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
3,140
If its hero use event Hero gains new ability, and refer to ability via condition Learned hero still, what u mentioned above.
Then add action: Create a special effect.
Choose create special effect on unit one, and fill fields like this:

as attachments strings use: hand,right choose an unit you want a special effect added to and choose the special effect itself now.

If its unit, how they get this ability?
via upgrade, trigger ect..?
 
Level 14
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
1,021
It is a hero. But i can't find Hero gains new ability, all i found was Unit - Unit gains new ability, and if i use Unit - Unit gains new ability - the trigger isn't working.. :(

this is the trigger:

  • Bear Flaxible paws
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Learns a skill
    • Conditions
      • (Level of Flexible paws [Bear] for (Picked unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
    • Actions
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the hand, right of (Attacking unit) using Abilities\Spells\Orc\TrollBerserk\TrollBeserkerTarget.mdl
      • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)
 
Last edited:

Bannar

Code Reviewer
Level 26
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
3,140
It is a hero. But i can't find Hero gains new ability, all i found was Unit - Unit gains new ability, and if i use Unit - Unit gains new ability - the trigger isn't working.. :(

this is the trigger:

  • Bear Flaxible paws
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Learns a skill
    • Conditions
      • (Level of Flexible paws [Bear] for (Picked unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
    • Actions
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the hand, right of (Attacking unit) using Abilities\Spells\Orc\TrollBerserk\TrollBeserkerTarget.mdl
      • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)

use Triggering unit instead of attacking unit, and its now better to use Learned skill condition.
 
Level 17
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
1,101
Cant you just create an attachment via effect which will last forever? Oh or is that only with passives that it works like. +0armour item bonus
 
Level 7
Joined
May 13, 2011
Messages
310
Pretty sure that's only passive stuff, I haven't seen it with any other spell. Although, it might be possible with the oh-so-powerful Channel ability, I'll have to take a squiz sometime.
 
Level 33
Joined
Mar 27, 2008
Messages
8,035
Actually nothing worked! (rofl) :D my trigger is here, help?

  • Bear Flaxible paws
    • Events
      • Time - Every 0.01 seconds of game time
    • Conditions
      • (Level of Flexible paws [Bear] for (Picked unit)) Greater than or equal to 1
    • Actions
      • Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the hand, right of (Attacking unit) using Abilities\Spells\Orc\TrollBerserk\TrollBeserkerTarget.mdl
      • Trigger - Turn off (This trigger)

Based on your trigger above, your interval Event is too short, change to 0.03 for better gaming experience.

Next, you used a Conditions to check (Picked unit) but for your Actions, you used (Attacking unit), the hell is this ?

Attacking unit is a response towards an Event related to "A unit Is attacked", but in this case, your Event is time-interval Event which has no relation at all with (Attacking unit), this same goes for (Picked unit)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top