1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. We have recently started the 16th edition of the Mini Mapping Contest. The theme is mini RPG. Do check it out and have fun.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. Choose your ride to damnation in the 5th Special Effect Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The winners of the 13th Techtree Contest have been announced!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The 13th Music Contest Poll is up! Vote for the best tracks in this symphony of frost and flame.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Walk-In Houses?

Discussion in 'Terrain & Level Design' started by pandamanana, Feb 5, 2007.

  1. pandamanana

    pandamanana

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    How is it possible to make a Walk-In house or building without making a trigger that teleports units to a set terrain that looks not much like the inside of a house/building. (think of LOAP, that do that... and it looks crappy) please help me. I know its been done. :infl_thumbs_up:
     
  2. demonsofdante

    demonsofdante

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    397
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Well, you can always create a realistically sized house that a unit can just walk in and its terrained to look like a normal house. You might have to avoid having a roof though, unless you set and change the camera angle so you only see the inside, or you can make the roof a destructable and hide it via triggers once a unit walks in.

    Most people just make separate areas that look like the inside of houses off to the side of the map to save room and keep things simple
     
  3. pandamanana

    pandamanana

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    well i can't make models (aka the house) but is there some secret of using doodads to make a realistic house?
     
  4. The_wand_mirror

    The_wand_mirror

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    4,273
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Sure try to create wood on the floor by placing tables and lowering them,and also hanging things on the wall.

    Thats the only way you cant make enterable houses what you mension but it would only be possible with rly big models but however .. its just not possible in the way you mean .
     
  5. operator

    operator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
  6. pandamanana

    pandamanana

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    *edit* thank you alot Operator!
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2007
  7. Deathbringer

    Deathbringer

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    524
    Resources:
    1
    Models:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    You could also place tables or some other doodad as a roofing tile, and then make it so that upon entering the area (the house's inside) the roof disappears and the lighting effect changes to fog of war outside the area and revealed inside.
     
  8. operator

    operator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,670
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    A little while ago
     
  9. SuPa-

    SuPa-

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,281
    Resources:
    29
    Models:
    19
    Icons:
    5
    Skins:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    29
    you could make an unselectable unit that has the model file of a house. And when you enter the region (where the house would be) u make a trigger that turns the house transparent. And when a unit leaves the region, it makes the house opaque again.
     
  10. Deep Sea Kraken

    Deep Sea Kraken

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    994
    Resources:
    6
    Models:
    6
    Resources:
    6
    And before you ask to make an unselectable unit give it the locust ability and set it move type to flying (so it doesnt interfear with units) and set its collision size and so on to 0