• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] random number problem...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
ok well im just learning how to code JASS and i have a question. basically i made a local string array called f that has like values for 0 1 and 2 and they all equal a different word. anyway i made it so that it messages all players that "you bought a "+f[GetRandomInt(0,2) ] anyway it all works fine and dandy but how can i call up the random number that it picked? like i said i just started learning JASS and i dont know all the functions yet so help would be appreciated. what this trigger is supposed to do is pick a random fruit(f) and than tell you how much it costs f is the fruit and g is the cost:
Code:
function fruit takes nothing returns nothing
 local string array f
 local integer array g
    set f[0]=" Apple "
    set f[1]=" Orange "
    set f[2]=" Banana "
    set g[0]= 0.50
    set g[1]= 0.60
    set g[2]= 0.45
    call DisplayTextToForce( GetPlayersAll(), "You bought a "+f[GetRandomInt(0,2)] )
is what i have so far and i want it to say to the player after that "This was "+g[the random number that was created for f] hope that wasnt too confusing XD

Level 2
Well, if you're coding stuff for this map(and not to be portable), then there's a couple ways you can do it. If you have to find it out later...like for a player to accept, then you have to store it in something non-local.