• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Quest Composition

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hello, I am new to the Warcraft III World Editor and to this website. I have been trying to create a quest for my new campaign. I was able to create the quest successfully, but not to complete it.
First Trigger: Quest 1
Events: Unit- a unit enters Goldshire <gen>
Conditions: (Triggering Unit) Equal to Protection Paladin 0000 <gen>
Actions: Quest - Create a Required quest titled ...
Quest - Mark (last created quest) as Discovered
Quest - Display to All Players the Quest Discovered Message...
Cinematic - Ping minimap ...
Set Quests[1]=(Last created quest)
Trigger - Turn off Quest 1
Second Trigger: Quest 1 Complete
Events: Unit - unit comes within 200.0 of ...
Conditions: (Triggering Unit) Equal to Protection Paladin 0000 <gen>
Actions: Quest - Mark Quests[1] as Completed
I tested this and it did not seem to work. Advice on what I'm missing is greatly appreciated! Please let me know if I need to provide any additional information. Thanks! :infl_thumbs_up:

Level 7
Welcome fellow map enthusiast!

Firstly, to post triggers, right click your trigger and select 'Copy As Text'. Then you can post it here between [trigger] [/trigger] tags.

KK, so I would suggest making all of your quests at the start of the map and then Marking them as Discovered when you come across them. This will also making it easier to organize and manage your quests.

You can't make quests at Map Initialization, so your quest init trig should be:

• Right After Initial Copy
    • Events
      • Time - Elapsed game time is 0.00 seconds
    • Conditions
    • Actions