• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Passively increase healing

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 4
Okay so this is my first thread on here and just an FYI I'm a real noob when it comes to modding. I am trying to make a passive ability that increases the healing done by my hero by 5% for each level. (So, for example, every skill spent in the passive ability will further increase the healing done by my hero by 5%) Can I get any pointers as to how I'm supposed to trigger this? Thanks for the help!! :)

Level 11
I should just put this in my sig because I've been linking it all day: http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/spells-569/gui-damage-engine-201016/

I'm not 100% on how healing works - I think all healing dealt by GUI abilities (heal, holy light, healing wave, healing ward, anything) is just negative damage, but if not you'll have to trigger all of your healing to deal negative damage and then modify it using the damage engine.

Read the description of the damage engine and the comments in the thread for more info on how to use it.

Level 14
I really wouldn't suggest using negative damage for healing. Just use the trigger functions for setting life for the healing and use a real value that stores the heal modifier for the unit. If you want the spell to work for more than one unit, you would need to use a global real array along with some kind of indexing system (You can easily find one if you search in the Spells section).

Also, Holy Light and Healing Wave don't deal negative damage so I assume all other healing spells don't as well.