• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Only 1 (item) weapon sistem (very simple!)

Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
Difficulty 1/10

For this tutorial you don't need any extra tools only Word Editor


This is very simple tutorial it contains 3 triggers and no variables, I think anyone can make it even someone who is new to WE. I don't have much experience with WE but when i was looking at "TaaZ's Item System" tutorial which does same thing as mine tutorial but mine is much easyer to make and i had some problems with TaaZ's system like when trigger makes item and i pick that one up i have 2 weapons or so...

anyway enough about that lets get started. Make first trigger, I'll call it Cant pick up uncheck it for initially on and make it go like this


as event put Player-Owed Unit Event and instead of dies put acquires item.


  • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Acquires an item

Put condition item-class comparison change item-class of last created item and instead of last created item put event response - item being manipulated which should be equal to item class u want to use as weapons i will use artifact... so I'll put artifact, ok thats with condition.


  • (Item-class of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Artifact

Actions : first put text that says you can't have more that 1 weapon : action type game > text message (auto timed), set display to player 1 instead of all players and place the text u want to put

  • Game - Display to Player Group - Player 1 (Red) the text: You can't have more...
2nd action Item > Create, click on tome of experience then over last created item and change that to event response - item being manipulated, at, change center of region to unit - position of unit and leave position of triggering unit;

  • Item - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at (Position of (Triggering unit))
3rd action Item > Remove, and put Remove event response - item being manipulated;

  • Item - Remove (Item being manipulated)
and finally put Trigger > turn on and leave turn on this trigger.

  • Trigger - Turn on (This trigger)
Note: Like i said before this trigger needs to be unchecked for initially on!!!!!! here is how it should look like (title of trigger will be gray when its not initially on, don't be confused with pic below can't make the title gray...)

  • Cant pick up
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Acquires an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item-class of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Artifact
    • Actions
      • Game - Display to Player Group - Player 1 (Red) the text: You can't have more...
      • Item - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at (Position of (Triggering unit))
      • Item - Remove (Item being manipulated)
      • Trigger - Turn on (This trigger)
ok other 2 triggers are easyer to make and i wont explain in detail like 1st one here are other 2 I'll explain why is it like that

  • Cant pick up on
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Acquires an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item-class of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Artifact
    • Actions
      • Trigger - Turn on Cant pick up <gen>
and 3rd

  • Cant pick up off
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Loses an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item-class of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Artifact
    • Actions
      • Trigger - Turn off Cant pick up <gen>
to make 2nd trigger just copy paste first make it initially on delete actions and put a new one Trigger > Trigger turn on and select Cant pick up as trigger that should be switched on so when you get item of type artifact you cant take another very simple.

And for 3rd change unit acquires item to losses item for event and put trigger turn off for action so trigger that doesn't allow you to pick up weapon is off and once you pick up a weapon trigger will be back on simple as that.


Now some of you might be wondering why did I put first trigger like this

  • Item - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at (Position of (Triggering unit))
  • Item - Remove (Item being manipulated)
Instead of just
  • Item - Move (Item being manipulated) to (Position of (Triggering unit))
well u can do it like that too but if u use triggers that add ability's when u acquire item and lose when u drop them well with move item you wouldn't get item in inv but some ability's will stay attached to your character

Note: takes 3 triggers for each player if you want to make for more players just copy and paste all those 3 and where it says player - 1 put 2,3,4 ....

This tutorial is written by me

there you go hope it helps and pm me if you didn't get something and comment this tutorial plz if I forgot anything, and I now i fixed my spelling :smile:

and heres map with those triggers if you need it
 

Attachments

  • 1 Weapon System.w3x
    10.1 KB · Views: 90
Last edited:
Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
There is need to put turn on for Cant pick up since when action Item - Remove (Item being manipulated) starts it takes efect on 3rd trigger and you losse item and when you losse item Cant pick up trigger is turned off and that means that u can pick up another artifact (weapon) and another... and with turn on trigger will be turned off with 3rd trigger and it will be back on with turn on action so you can't pick another artifact as long as you hold one alredy. And whats so unclear my english or the way i wrote tutorial?
 
Last edited:
Level 3
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
71
the beauty of Taaz's system is that it only needs TWO triggers per player...if i were to use yours i would need 33 triggers....

Write out complete sentances...don't use "u" instead of you or "2" instead of to/too

But this is nice if you have only have few players because the triggers are fairly simplistic.
This tutorial is made by me and all credits go to me :)
Isn't that kinda obvious??

Also, please check over your trigger tags. They need a small fix: the event/condition icons are missing.
 
Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
Tutorial

there's a drop action so i still dont understand the point of create-remove item

Create-remove is used becouse if there was only remove the item u tryed to pick up will be removed from game not just from your inv so that item wont exist on map anymore and create makes that same item that was removed on position of unit.

the beauty of Taaz's system is that it only needs TWO triggers per player...if i were to use yours i would need 33 triggers....

well yes that coud be the problem like i said i had some problems with his system like when u make a new item with trigger and I end up with 2 weapons or so and also makeing of mine 33 whoud be faster than 22 of taazes becouse of variables and all that but yes his system might be better if your makeing map for more pleyers and you dont make items with triggers.

Write out complete sentances...don't use "u" instead of you or "2" instead of to/too

ok sorry about that i will fix... i goten used to type like that.

But this is nice if you have only have few players because the triggers are fairly simplistic.

Yep that was the idea thx.

Also, please check over your trigger tags. They need a small fix: the event/condition icons are missing.

I dont see any icons missing?? Plz tell me whats wrong dont get it?? :confused:

Keep sending comments and help me make this tutorial better and ask if something is unclear. :cute:
 
Level 3
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
71
anyway enaff about that lets get started. Make first trigger, I'll call it Cant pick up uncheck it for instantly on and make it go like this as event put Player-Owed Unit Event (if ur makeing rpg or something with 1 unit(hero) for each player) and instead of dies put acquires item. Put condition : item-class comparison change item-class of last created item instead of last created item put event response - item being manipulated which shoud be equal to item class u want to use as weapons i will use artifact... so I'll put artifact, ok thats with condition. actions : first put text that says u can't have more that 1 weapon : action type game > text message set display to player 1 instead of all players and place the text u want to put; 2nd action Item > create click on tome of expitiance then over last created item and change that to event response - item being manipulated, at change centar of region to unit - position of unit; 3rd action Item > remove item being manipulated; and finaly put trigger turn on turn on this trigger. THIS TRIGGER MUST BE UNCHECKED FOR INSTANTLY ON!!!!!! here how it shoud look like

Ok, um...please use paragraghs!!! It will make this tutorial amazingly more readable.
 
Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
there's a drop action so i still don't understand the point of create-remove item

Sorry man my bad i even haven't read message correctly there is need for crate remove system if you use some trigger like this:

  • Untitled Trigger 001
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Acquires an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Claws of Attack +15
    • Actions
      • Unit - Add Avatar (Neutral) to (Triggering unit)
with

  • Untitled Trigger 001 Copy
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Loses an item
    • Conditions
      • (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Claws of Attack +15
    • Actions
      • Unit - Remove Avatar (Neutral) from (Triggering unit)
If you use drop item you will still have the ability left... if u were preferring to action:
  • Hero - Drop (Item being manipulated) from (Triggering unit)
hope you understand what i mean
 
Level 4
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
70
I managed to change a thing in the "system" so that when you can't pick up an item, it will not move, instead of moving to the hero.
  • Events
    • Unit - A unit owned by Player 1 (Red) Acquires an item
  • Conditions
    • (Item-class of (Item being manipulated)) Equal to Artifact
  • Actions
    • Game - Display to Player group - Player 1 (Red) the text: You can't have 2 weapons at the same time !!!
    • Game - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at (Position of (Triggering unit))
    • Item - Move (Last created Item to (Position of (Item being manipulated))
    • Item - Remove (Item Being manipulated)
    • Trigger - Turn on (This trigger)
I hope I was being a bit helpful now :)
 
Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
qbrtux you got litle error in your trigger and you dont need move item action if you want item to stay in place. Just isnstead of

  • Item - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at (Position of (Triggering unit))
You need to put

  • Item - Create (Item-type of (Item being manipulated)) at (Position of (Item being manipulated))
 
Level 40
Joined
Dec 14, 2005
Messages
10,532
General Tutorial Submitting Rules and Guidelines said:
  • The tutorial must be easy to cope with:
    • Please use clear, understandable English. That means no improper grammar; if you don't know how to spell a word, please use an online word corrector.
  • Look over your tutorial, and be sure it is a tutorial, and not just a system of yours with a few lines of description as to what it does added.
. .
 
Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
Yes I've read rules before i posted mine tutorial... I used ieSpell i don't think there are any spelling errors left. I made this to help people its a simple way to make this system so i thought lot of new map makers coud find it useful, but if its incorrect feel free to remove it just don't give me -rep.
 
Level 11
Joined
Jul 27, 2008
Messages
175
Somethings strange, iv done it EXACTLY as you have, but wen i pick up the same item for the second time it lets me pick it up.

hmmm are you sure you did it correct? Check first trigger maybe you forgot to put turn on this trigger at the end. Im pretty sure it works... Check that and send me message if it still wont work, I'll try to fix it.
 
Level 6
Joined
Oct 23, 2006
Messages
141
Ah yes, thx.

Im so stupid i set it to off instead of on lol

Anyway, thx its very helpfull, im using it for "You can not have more than one left/right handed weapon at one time" And its workin well now, so thx again
 
Top