• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Leagues != Skill?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 10
The leagues seem to be very loose, in that not all silvers can beat all bronze, and not all diamond(yes, you snobby, snooty, smug bastards), are actually better than gold/plats.

I have found that gold/plat/low diamond seems to be extremely close.

Not going into details, but I am an avid martial artist, and one of the concepts and arguements that arises in that field is that a black belt can beat a brown belt, no matter what, all the time, without effort.

This is NOT how is it with the sc2 leagues.

1. Do you guys think the leagues should be very different levels of skill? ie. every plat CAN beat EVERY gold, and every diamond can beat EVERY plat, etc...
2. Do you think the current system could be improved? if so then how?
3. Do you like the current system and think it needs tweaks?

Just wanted to get some general chit-chat going around the actual mechanics and the ideas behind the league system itself, as it is a huge part of sc2.

I honestly think the leages need to be a little more seperated, but I am not 100% sure how that could be done.

Level 40
That's because your MMR is only your estimate of skill and not your actual skill. However, someone who has say over 500 games in diamond will probably on average beat someone who has say over 500 games in plat. Note that the "on average" is important: individual games can have weird things happen.

Level 22
Also do not forget the strange distribution of skill. Most people are probably situated in the middle as far as skill goes.