1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Rubbed the right way, the genie is out of its lamp! The 12th Concept Art Contest Results have been announced.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The Lich King has a new champion. The results for the 19th Icon Contest are here!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Race against the odds and Reforge, Don't Refund. The 14th Techtree Contest has begun!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Installing Maps

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by Sweet, Aug 16, 2005.

  1. Sweet

    Sweet

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    What am i doing wrong? When I install a new map, it shows in the map file. When i go to play it, it doesnt show in the map list. I have all the expansions and the maps are in the right folders.
     
  2. ragingspeedhorn

    ragingspeedhorn

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    6,521
    Resources:
    14
    Icons:
    5
    Maps:
    7
    Tutorials:
    2
    Resources:
    14
    And you are sure you have unzipped them?
     
  3. blademasterEXO

    blademasterEXO

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Resources:
    4
    Icons:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    Same as me! it didn't show the file when played TFT, but on the map folder, it's there! Not hidden, just normal. I can even open it from World Edit.
     
  4. N00byStance

    N00byStance

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,071
    Resources:
    14
    Models:
    13
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    14
    Put unzipped *.w3x/*.w3m map file into Warcraft III\Maps\ or any its subdirectory. Enjoy!
     
  5. Telefragged

    Telefragged

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    311
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    If you have files inside folders further inside Warcraft III\Maps\, sometimes the maps may not appear in Warcraft III. {Blizzard dislikes organization ;)}

    Try putting them in the root folder instead, that always works. This seems to happen more with protected maps than unprotected ones.
     
  6. DarkShadow

    DarkShadow

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,425
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Shorten the filenames/subfolders, sometimes Warcraft3 has some issues with long or weird map/folder names. And be sure you've Version 1.18.