1. Find your way through the deepest dungeon in the 18th Mini Mapping Contest Poll.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. A brave new world lies beyond the seven seas. Join the 34th Modeling Contest today!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hive 3 Remoosed BETA - NOW LIVE. Go check it out at BETA Hive Workshop! Post your feedback in this new forum BETA Feedback.
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

{Ex-Sticky} HELP! My JASSNewGenPatch keeps crashing!

Discussion in 'Warcraft Editing Tools' started by Rui, Jul 6, 2008.

Tags:
  1. Rui

    Rui

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8,529
    Resources:
    8
    Maps:
    8
    Resources:
    8
    Hi there.

    So your JASSNewGenPatch now crashes when you try to use it? Well, here's an easy solution for your problem.
    Follow the steps below. Any questions or problems you are experiencing may be posted in this topic.
    1. Download v1.21 of the World Editor, here, select Free User, and save the file in your desktop.
      Even though we're using 1.21 editor, it still changes your units (Knights, for example) to their v1.22 changes, which is even better.
    2. After the file is downloaded, open C:, and open your Warcraft III Folder (wherever you installed the game).
    3. There should be an iconless file named worldedit.exe. Do NOT delete or overwrite this file. Instead, back it up somewhere where you'll remember.
      For example, I saved it in a folder named "backup122WE", inside my Warcraft III folder and it won't interfere with anything at all.

      Why are we backing up this file, you ask? Well, in a few weeks, JASSNewGenPatch will have a new version available, compatible with patch 1.22, so you may use the original file again.
    4. Pick up the downloaded file, either by dragging or cut/pasting, and put it inside your Warcraft III folder.
      The downloaded file should be named worldedit.exe and be iconless, just like the one we've backed up.

      And that's it! Open up your JASSNewGenPatch and go back to work.
      Grimoire's no-limits feature works. About the others, I haven't tested. However, do not attempt to Test Map, you have to open Warcraft III by yourself.

      When the new version of JASSNewGenPatch is available and you wish to revert the changes you made, simply go to your backup folder with the original worldedit.exe, drag it to your Warcraft III Folder and overwrite.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2008
  2. Eccho

    Eccho

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,297
    Resources:
    2
    Spells:
    2
    Resources:
    2
    Yay Rui that is very sweet :D

    I did it in another way though by copying the wc3 1.21 map and then installed 1.22 in the copied one. But well, it takes so much more space if you have a small computer disc.

    I think Im going to use your way, yay!
     
  3. Dreadnought[dA]

    Dreadnought[dA]

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    810
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    You can test if you go to grimoire and uncheck start with grimoire...
     
  4. Oziris

    Oziris

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,109
    Resources:
    3
    Icons:
    1
    StarCraft II Resources:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    WOW thank u u just saved my project!!! +rep
     
  5. XzobieX

    XzobieX

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Wow thanks man that fixed my problem now i feel powerful ! :thumbs_up: