• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Cooldown Reduction

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Hello. I'm a beginner and I've been trying to experiment with Cooldown Reduction items, as I have been unable to find any references for such online or on the Hive. Most threads I've found are from before 2010, which were before a few actions existed. Is there a way I am able to set up cooldown reduction items? What I have below does not work, even though I can not find what is wrong with it. Thank you in advance.

• cdr
    • Events
      • Unit - A unit Begins casting an ability
    • Conditions
      • (Item-type of (Item carried by (Triggering unit) in slot 1)) Equal to Attack Item 1
    • Actions
      • Unit - For Unit (Triggering unit), Set cooldown of ability (Ability being cast), Level: 1 to ((Ability Cooldown of (Triggering unit) for ability (Ability being cast), Level: 1) x 0.10)

Level 38
Those ability modification functions are 0-indexed, not 1-indexed. So you modified the cooldown for level 2 instead of for level 1. 0=lvl1, 1=lvl2, etc.

Also be aware that what you wrote will reduce the current cd by 90% each time the spell starts casting. This is bad for two reasons:
  1. If the spell is cancelled (by issuing a stop command) or interrupted (by stun, silence, etc.) this trigger will still have fired.
  2. The reduction won’t just happen once. It will get reduced by 90% cumulatively every time. The total remaining cd will go: 10%, 1%, 0.1%, etc.