• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Array question?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 12
I want to do something like this

array myArray = {"Player1Name","Player2Name","Player3Name"}

for i = 1,#myArray do
if player(0) == myArray[1] then
//blah
end
end

I'm new to jass so this is written in Lua :p but you get the idea, how would I go about this?

Edit: I got what I need working by creating a array variable, and assigning each index to a player name and then looping through each index and checking if the index = player name and executing the code. Is this the best way to go about this?

Also how can I check array length? Indexes.

Last edited:

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 64
Is this the best way to go about this?
Sounds pretty much optimal.
Also how can I check array length? Indexes.
There is no need to as the length is always known and constant.
In the current Warcraft III version...
JASS:
constant integer JASS_MAX_ARRAY_SIZE=32768
In some old Warcraft III versions...
JASS:
constant integer JASS_MAX_ARRAY_SIZE=8192

Warcraft III arrays are dynamic arrays. They will always resize up to hold the largest assigned index. The largest such a dynamic array can grow is JASS_MAX_ARRAY_SIZE. The last few indices have been known to bug with save/load cycles but I am not sure if this is still the case.

If one wants a list then one needs another variable to keep track of the list length.

A decent implementation would look like...
JASS:
// This goes in your data initialization function.
set PlayerNamesLength = 0
set PlayerNamesName[PlayerNamesLength] = "Player1Name"
set PlayerNamesLength = PlayerNamesLength + 1
set PlayerNamesName[PlayerNamesLength] = "Player2Name"