• Listen to a special audio message from Bill Roper to the Hive Workshop community (Bill is a former Vice President of Blizzard Entertainment, Producer, Designer, Musician, Voice Actor) 🔗Click here to hear his message!
  • Read Evilhog's interview with Gregory Alper, the original composer of the music for WarCraft: Orcs & Humans 🔗Click here to read the full interview.

Advanced Trigger Sorting

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
15
how do you write a trigger that does something only when Divine Shield is active?

i'm trying to make an ability that's duration or toggle based like divine shield can be. i want this ability bound to a trigger that fires off an action, only when the ability is active/toggled/on. so far, i've only found that 'Unit - A unit is issued an order with no target' fires my trigger, but i might/probably will want to use this type of triggering in another way of my map with a different ability. so, i need to be able to know what is going on... not just that it's going on, because it fires when you learn the ability that way.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
15
i'm trying to make an ability that i can toggle on/off on a hero which gives 1 mana per second while it's on. simple as that...
 
Level 16
Joined
Oct 30, 2004
Messages
1,277
I didnt check this in the editor, but woulndt it go like this:

Event
Unit starts casting a spell
Conditions
Casting spell equal to manaspell
Actions
Set variable "Caster" = Casting unit
Turn on trigger "ThisgivesMana"

Trigger "ThisgivesMana":

Event
Every 1 second of game time
Conditions
None
Actions
Add 1 mana to "Caster" mana pool

Third trigger:

Event
"Caster" finishes casting a spell
Condition
Casted spell equal to Manaspell
Actions
Turn of trigger "ThisgivesMana"


Try that, i just wrote this while trying to remember some triggers, as said havent checked if it works, try it and say did it work.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
15
Event
Unit starts casting a spell
Conditions
Casting spell equal to manaspell
Actions
Set variable "Caster" = Casting unit
Turn on trigger "ThisgivesMana"

no, this don't work... seems the only one i have gotten to respond is the 'single player only' warned 'hero clicked ability button', something like that... not sure of the exact name right now..
 
Level 6
Joined
Aug 29, 2004
Messages
159
This is an 'air drain' trigger which i use to take air (mana) from submerged submarines. I've modified it slightly for your purposes. The unit that is regaining mana needs a spell based off 'Divine Shield' which gives them the custom buff 'ManaSpell'.

Mana Gain.
Events
Time - Every 1.00 seconds of game time
Conditions
Actions
Unit Group - Pick every unit in (Units in (Playable map area) matching (((Matching unit) has buff ManaSpell) Equal to True)) and do (Actions)
Loop - Actions
Unit - Set mana of (Picked unit) to ((Mana of (Picked unit)) + 1.00)
If (All Conditions are True) then do (Then Actions) else do (Else Actions)
If - Conditions
(Mana of (Picked unit)) Equal to (Max Mana of (Picked Unit))
Then - Actions
Unit - Order (Picked unit) to Human Paladin - Deactivate Divine Shield
Else - Actions
Do nothing

That should work like diddly. :). Have fun.
=][= Bort
 
Level 2
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
15
ok, so if i base this off of divine shield and use:

Unit - Order (Picked unit) to Human Paladin - Deactivate Divine Shield

how would i go about making another ability that does the same thing, but for health.

it seems i can use this:

Unit - Remove ManaSpell buff from (Picked unit)

that would work with multiple spells, i think at least... going to try it. what would be the difference between using that and using yours? are there any cons or side affects?
 
Level 2
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
15
ok, got it working... but i made the 2nd ability based on immolation..... i need another ability to base the 2nd off of that has a Data - Can Deactivate property, so i can set that to false.
 
Level 2
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
15
evidently WEU gives a different id to every copy of a custom ability. i was using the official editor. solved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top