• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

A* Pathfinding help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Ok im making a pathfinding system. Just for learning. Its working great. Just that the algorithm doesnt return the best path. Im new to pathfinding.
And i wonder if anyone here have skills in this stuff.
The 2 screenshots show the red line as i want the path to be as close to as possible.

The small dots are the nodes checked and big glowing dots represent the path found

Attachments

• pathfind1.jpg
    pathfind1.jpg
    346.7 KB · Views: 297
  • pathfind2.jpg
    pathfind2.jpg
    318.2 KB · Views: 365
Level 7
How are you implementing it? You're using the F = G + H equation properly, correct?

More importantly, are you maintaining the open, closed, and on-the-path lists correctly?

Level 7
its all correct, else the algorithm wouldnt find the path.
and ye the cost is F=H+G
I asume it was the Heuristic tat was wrong. I changed it to pythagoras now and works alow better. Now i need to find an optimization to workaround the operation limit and to allow a more straitght movement

Attachments

• pathfind3.jpg
    pathfind3.jpg
    771.3 KB · Views: 561
  • pathfind4.jpg
    pathfind4.jpg
    544 KB · Views: 297
Level 7
Cost is local to each of the correlating circle, right? Just checking...