• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Music Software

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 12
Okay, I've been using my trusty old Noteworthy Composer for several years, but I really think my skills and needs have outgrown it, now. I've been doing my research and looking at different forms of Notation Software, and, as far as I can tell, the two leading brands are Sibelius and Finale. I've looked at reviews of these programs, and it seems that they are of pretty much equal quality. So far, I think that I like Sibelius slightly better than Finale. Also, I've been looking at programs like EastWest Quantum Leap Symphonic Orchestra and Garritan Personal Orchestra. As I understand it, these programs are kind of meant as add-ons to music-making software, to increase the quality with high-quality instrument sounds. So, for anyone who has experience with any of these:

Which do you prefer, Sibelius or Finale? Why?

I think that I prefer EWQLSO, is there a reason I shouldn't purchase it (aside from the cost)? Is there a better reason for purchasing Garritan?

How does a program like EWQLSO integrate with a program like Sibelius? Is it as simple as making a MIDI file in Sibelius, importing it into EWQLSO, and configuring the instruments correctly, or does it have something to do with This?

It would be really great if I could get some of these before the end of the music contest. Feel free to answer any or all of these questions.