• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Lua] Need help with boolexpr

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
15 year old me used to make simple spells in gui 10 years ago and jass was too daunting to me. With the release of reforged beta and its support of lua it seems like the perfect time to get back in. I have no experience with lua either but I wanna learn it.

Now to the question, Im not sure about how boolexpr is different from boolean? I was trying out this:
Lua:
function blizzardEffect()
    local trigger = CreateTrigger()
    TriggerRegisterAnyUnitEvent(trigger, EVENT_PLAYER_UNIT_SPELL_EFFECT)
    TriggerAddAction(trigger, function()
        local caster = GetTriggerUnit()
        if GetSpellAbilityId() == FourCC('AHbz') then
            local unitGroup = GetUnitsInRangeOfLocMatching(500, GetSpellTargetLoc(), Condition(function()
                return GetFilterUnit() ~= caster
            end))
            ForGroup(unitGroup, function()
                local u = GetEnumUnit()
                IssueTargetOrder(u, 'attack', GroupPickRandomUnit(unitGroup)) 
            end)
        end
    end)
end

It works with GetUnitsInRangeOfLoc() but not with the condition. So while trying to figure out why I tried this:
Lua:
function doSth(a,b)
    print(a,b)
    if b == true then
        return a + 1
    else
        return a
    end
end

function sth()
   local unit = 1
   return doSth(unit, function()
       return true
       end)
end

print(sth())

where print(a,b) prints the address of function b instead of return value true, why is this happening and how do I fix it?

Wrda

Spell Reviewer
Level 26
Lua uses dynamic types, if you tried to print a unit
Lua: