• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Need advices / CnC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Hey guys,

I'm a beginner terrainer and cinematic maker. And this time, i wanted YOU to comment and criticize, and give me some advices on how to improve my terrain. :ogre_haosis:

If you want, you can throw in a simple comment as well :wink:

The first one is focused mainly on fog / lighting effects (practicing), and it's called A Mage's journey.
ter1_zpsd9a2f6bf.png

EDIT: Added the second one, pretty much like first
ter2_zpsa46a91bc.png

The second one is focused mainly on indoors, it's a tavern (2 screenshots) and its called A Mage taking a break from a journey.
1_zps7a37a9c5.png

2_zps36f0e0d2.png

Credits:
to UTM
me

Last edited:
Level 51
Well lets see. It's pretty good for the start, but there are a few things:

In the first pic, make the mountains not such smooth hills, form them with rocks, or even better, create them completly out of rocks. Experiment with bushes and stuff, it will make them look more natural. The trees are also sticking out of the hills, more variation and better placement would be good.
The bar is way to broad for being a bar, there are to few windows (IMO, that's a personal taste) and the height proportions from the people and the decorations somehow don't match.

That's what I can see atm, I'm no pro terrainer but I hope I could help you a bit. It's a very good start.
Second, more vegetation in the foreground, bushes, small/bigger rocks, flowers, anything that makes the scene more interesting and fills it with live.