• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Player Click Event -- Moving units

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Hi, I'm a novice editor and this is my first map. Thank you anyone who responds. I don't know computer coding and I can't figure out how to use a tracking system I downloaded on HIVE because its all in JASS and is overwhelming for a noob like me, but I might be able to figure out something that's 2-15 lines or something that is explained to me with isolated info. The name is "System [Track]" by PurgeandFire if you know how to use it and care to explain. :p

Where thread starts:
I would like to create a way to move units instantly by selecting them and second clicking where they go. Seemed simple, but I am missing an important Trigger Event to do so. If the unit is in Region <P1> (overall area), is a hero, and is selected by player 1, then allow player 1 to move unit to <X region> inside <P1> by second clicking.

• Moving Heroes in Starting Area P1
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) Selects a unit
    • Conditions
    • Actions
      • Set P1SelectedUnit = (Picked unit)
      • Trigger - Turn on Moving Heroes part 2 <gen>
^I have tried triggering unit and matching unit as well as picked unit. None work.
Here is where the issue is: Player 1 uses Mouse Down event. There is only Mouse up, Mouse down, and Mouse move. Now mouse move would run past too many other regions on the grid of characters in <P1> and idk what Mouse up or Mouse down does, but clicking doesn't work.

• Moving Heroes part 2
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) issues Mouse Down event
    • Conditions
    • Actions