• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

n00b needs help - triggers in trees and allies

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
Ok - fair warning.

I suck at editor. I'm a noob, I don't necessarily program (read as I don't, nor have any knowledge of it), and my extent of wow editing is that I use object editor to compare units and thus figure out what each thing does.

Where I need help -

Two things:

a) I have a map where I have these neutral Night Elves chilling in a forest and when my hero meets them (RPlol) they join forces. Now, this is all storyboard, but I know that during quests, you can have this actually done. My question is... how? I saw that thing in the forces properties that says make rescue-able, but that doesn't seem to do anything... Also, the forces are spread out so if the hero walks towards the main Tree of Life, is there a way to trigger it to turn the entire team at once, or do I need to run by each unit?

b) On another map, I have these dwarves chilling on a mountain top. Naturally resources are scarce, but I was wondering (based on what I saw around here), can you provide a trigger that once trees are cut down, they will regrow? Or is the term respawn?

Anyways, thanks for your help in advance, but bear in mind, I'm mostly ignorant when it comes to triggers, so while I'm not asking for a complete guide in your explanation, please don't leave out any steps. Thanks.

Level 3