making models work in-game

Level 2
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
8
im having issues making models work tat i dled they seem not 2 appear in map editor or ingame can someone tell me wat im doing wrong
 
Level 3
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
29
Make sure that their texture files (.blp) have the right path in world edit. Instead of "imported/texturename.blp" it should be "texturename.blp", "Texture/texturename.blp" or whatever, usually you can find the correct path names at the page where you downloaded the model.
For example: http://www.hiveworkshop.com/forums/models-530/headhunter-49194/ where the path name for its texture is "Units\Creeps\Ninja\Ninja.blp".
You can edit the path name by double clicking the imported .blp file at the world edit import manager.
 
Level 2
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
8
i did both ways and it stills appears as a green block i even tried resetting the WE. im having issues with Prime Matron i got the skins rite but it still shows the green box i followed everything the guide said.
 
Level 3
Joined
Jan 30, 2009
Messages
29
i did both ways and it stills appears as a green block i even tried resetting the WE.
I have no idea what could be the problem then. Maybe you should try checking the path name again? One time i had this problem too but then i realized that the path was something like "Textures\texture.blp " (1 space) instead of "Textures\texture.blp" (no space after .blp), so i removed the space and then it worked.
 
Level 2
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
8
i got a few 2 work but prime matron still dont want 2 work i followed the guide where i dled it at but it seems not 2 work
 

Dr Super Good

Spell Reviewer
Level 62
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Messages
27,051
1. Make sure you have updated your WarCraft III TFT client. This site only supports the lattest version of the game and importing models in the editor requires TFT expansion.
2. Import all files the model needs, this includes the main model file itself and all required textures (some models use native textures which will not need to be imported).
3. Change the paths of all textures the model use to the appropiate paths (as the models themseves are set to look for the textures at a certain path). Be warned that these paths may be case sensistive so make sure you enter them exactly as specified for the model.
4. Save the map fully, and close WorldEditor program (not just the map, the whole program).
5. Open the map file (this is usually done by double clicking the map archive file which passes the appropiate commands to the WorldEdit program). Alternativly you can open the WorldEdit from the install path as long as you do not load a default map.
6. Use the models as intended.
7. The models should appear ingame and in the editor. If they only appear ingame then fall back to step 4.

If the model still does not work. You are eithor entering the path incorrectly (recheck path names and make sure you are referencing the path correctly) or the model is curropt. If the model is curropt please make others aware and possibly contact a model section moderator.

Be aware that when referencing a model path in JASS you will need to specify 2 slashes ("\\") instead of 1.
 
Top