1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still havn't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Lich King demands your service! We've reached the 19th edition of the Icon Contest. Come along and make some chilling servants for the one true king.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The 4th SFX Contest has started. Be sure to participate and have a fun factor in it.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The poll for the 21st Terraining Contest is LIVE. Be sure to check out the entries and vote for one.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. The results are out! Check them out.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Don’t forget to sign up for the Hive Cup. There’s a 555 EUR prize pool. Sign up now!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. The Hive Workshop Cup contest results have been announced! See the maps that'll be featured in the Hive Workshop Cup tournament!
    Dismiss Notice
  9. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

making difficulty for td help

Discussion in 'Map Development' started by killer_n00b, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. killer_n00b

    killer_n00b

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    plz i need help making difficulty 4 my td map i need it so that easy=50% of units health and noraml=75% and so on if anyone could help let me know plz

    plz help
     
  2. PurplePoot

    PurplePoot

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    11,161
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    1
    Spells:
    1
    Tutorials:
    1
    Resources:
    3
    Events
    (whatever happens to choose the mode)
    Conditions
    (whatever conds you need)
    Actions
    Set UnitLife ( a real var ) to (percentage of life)


    NOW

    when units spawn, use this

    Set Percent Life of Last Created Unit to UnitLife.
     
  3. Eusira

    Eusira

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,101
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    There is a trigger function to set the handicaps. I recommend that you try that.
     
  4. 13lack.1)ragon

    13lack.1)ragon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    I have the same question, for having a difficulty for my td. Except insted of hp % I want speed % to increase. As i have a round (3 to be precise) which have regeneration on them I cant make it unit hp %. The problem is, however, how to create the dialogue buttons which you see in every single battleships and maul game and how to set those for the handicaps. I tried making dialogue button but screwed up. By the way, speeds are:

    Very easy: -20%
    Easy: -10%
    Norm: No difference
    Hard: +10%
    Very Hard: +20%
     
  5. Eusira

    Eusira

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,101
    Resources:
    4
    Models:
    3
    Skins:
    1
    Resources:
    4
    I'm pretty sure there's a form of an upgrade to increase speed for a unit. As for the dialogue buttons, I suggest variables for the dialogues, and from the button selected, raise the upgrade amounts. However, this will mean that you will have to start off the units slower than what you intend.
     
  6. 13lack.1)ragon

    13lack.1)ragon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    well i made 5 units, each with a difficulty 'aura', that get spawned at a certain spot when you click/pick acertain button. Also i cannot make it an 'upgrade' because i have 10 players and 2 enemy spawn teams. It is a solo td also, so it wouldnt work.
     
  7. killer_n00b

    killer_n00b

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    how for groups

    it only works 4 one unit not a group.how would i do a group. i must be doing something minor wrong. plz help
     
  8. 13lack.1)ragon

    13lack.1)ragon

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    334
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Killler use: whenever units enter regions set life to %s it does to every unit that comes in your spawn zone.
     
  9. killer_n00b

    killer_n00b

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    ive done this but it dn't work:
    create units easy part 2
    Events
    Unit - A unit enters unit life <gen>
    Conditions
    (Owner of MonsterType[level]) Equal to Player 9 (Gray)
    (Clicked dialog button) Equal to Easybutton
    Actions
    Set UnitLife_easy = (Percentage life of MonsterType[level])
    Unit - Set life of (Entering unit) to 50.00%
    Unit - Set life of MonsterType[level] to 50.00%
    (nothing works now) can someone plz help
     
  10. azalgath

    azalgath

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Resources:
    3
    Maps:
    3
    Resources:
    3
    Well...
    Your conditions won't work at all o_O
    You are checking to see what dialog button has been pressed, when the event has nothing to do with dialog buttons.

    Heres how I would do what I think your trying to do:
    At the start have your dialogs (Remember you can't show dialogs on 'Map Int'), lets say the player selects 'Easy'. So you have a trigger that like this:
    Event
    A dialog button is pressed
    Condition
    Pressed button = Easy
    Action
    Set "Difficulty" to 1 (1 = Easy 2 = Normal 3 = Hard)

    Now with your region:
    Event
    Unit enters unit life
    Condition
    Owner of 'Entering Unit' = Player 9
    Action
    Unit - Set life of (Entering unit) to 50.00%

    I'm at school at the moment, so I hope this works xD

    Well then, Good Luck and I hope you get this working.

    - Azalgath
     
  11. killer_n00b

    killer_n00b

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    thanky you i did used your ide and it works thx so much