1. Updated Resource Submission Rules: All model & skin resource submissions must now include an in-game screenshot. This is to help speed up the moderation process and to show how the model and/or texture looks like from the in-game camera.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. DID YOU KNOW - That you can unlock new rank icons by posting on the forums or winning contests? Click here to customize your rank or read our User Rank Policy to see a list of ranks that you can unlock. Have you won a contest and still haven't received your rank award? Then please contact the administration.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Lead your forces to battle in the 15th Techtree Contest. The call is yours, commander!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The reforging of the races is complete. Come see the 14th Techtree Contest Results.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. It's time to choose your horse in the race - the 32nd Modeling Contest Poll is up!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Check out the Staff job openings thread.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
60,000 passwords have been reset on July 8, 2019. If you cannot login, read this.

Fatal error on unit with inventory (hero) ability

Discussion in 'World Editor Help Zone' started by ynosh, Nov 17, 2009.

  1. ynosh

    ynosh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Hi,
    I have a unit (not hero) with the ability inventory (hero) but when he takes an item as the book of experience I get a Fatal Error.

    Do you know why that might be?
     
  2. MortAr

    MortAr

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,768
    Resources:
    7
    Icons:
    6
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    Because its not a Hero, it can't earn the expierience from the book, thus the game crushes. Same will happen if you pick tome of agi/int/str.
     
  3. ynosh

    ynosh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Yes, it is the same. Can not you do something about it? (I like to keep the unit was not a hero)
     
  4. MortAr

    MortAr

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,768
    Resources:
    7
    Icons:
    6
    Packs:
    1
    Resources:
    7
    You can do it with Runes if you want it to use experience, but you need to store the experience in real/integer values, then use it to increase its level with trigger(s) agian.
     
  5. ynosh

    ynosh

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40
    Resources:
    1
    Maps:
    1
    Resources:
    1
    Ok, thank you very much. Your information has been helpful.
     
  6. meOme

    meOme

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Resources:
    0
    Resources:
    0
    Some abilities just crash the game when a non hero unit get's them. (Tomes kinda "make the unit use a ability")
    Same with engineering upgrade. If a non hero unit takes up an item with engineering upgrade, the game crashes.