• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[Solved] Upgrades not working as intended

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
Hey all,

tl;dr upgrades aren't working well. Do these things get corrupted sometimes? It's like the Upgrade Effects - Operation and Upgrade Effects - Value are out of sync.

I'm working on a Campaign tech extension mod for multiplayer and I'm rather stumped atm. It's my first project on SC2 and I've learned a lot. After creating Terran Vehicle And Ship Weapons Ultra-Capacitors and Terran Vehicle And Ship Vanadium Plating I thought I pretty much had the Upgrades down. Protoss is giving me headaches though. All I did was removed the unused actors and effects from the upgrade list (hybrid, Karrass, etc) and added some missing heroes. I did this a million times for Terran with all the mercs.

The problem:
After upgrading protoss air weapons 1, Tempest ground damage (resonance coil) went from 30 to 3. It's supposed to be 30 + 3. So you'd think I accidentally set the operation from (add) to (set). I have tripple checked this, it is not the case.

To create protoss air weapons level 2, I copied all the effect content directly from my own level 1 and just changed the icons from level 1 weapons to level 2 weapons. Any bug that might've slipped in, you'd assume it'd be copied along as well. However the Tempest damage does go from 3 to 6, but this time it's icon isn't updated. This behaviou is consistent with Operations and Values being out of sync. It tries to set the 3 that is supposed to be added and it succeeds. Then it tries to add an image, which fails.