• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Timers instead of waits

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 9
Hey!
I started learning JASS about two days ago, and I've been messing with it using natives instead of BJ's and so on.
And I got a problem.
I don't wish to use waits. I know the evil they're.
I read posts saying "use timers instead of waits".

can somebody tell me how to do this? or at least show me a tutorial or a simple example code?

Thanks in advance :thumbs_up:

JASS:
function MyFunc2 takes nothing returns nothing
    //declare locals
    call DestroyTimer(GetExpiredTimer())
    //carry on with the code
endfunction

function MyFunc takes nothing returns nothing
    local timer t=CreateTimer()
    //do code
    call TimerStart(t, <duration>, false, function MyFunc2)
    //here you can do more code which won't be interrupted by the wait
    set t=null
    //clean leaks blahblahblah
endfunction
This is kinda the basic code for using a timer instead of a wait. Where it says <duration> you put how long you want to wait for. The main problem with this is the issue of transferring variables to the other function. For this, if you do not wish to make it MUI, you can store the values in global variables, or you can use some kind of timer attachment system.

Hope I helped!

JASS:
function Spell_TIMER takes nothing returns nothing
    // Do whatever after the "Wait"
    call DestroyTimer( GetExpiredTimer() )
endfunction

function Spell takes nothing returns nothing
 local timer T = CreateTimer()
    // Instead of "Wait 10.0 seconds"
    call TimerStart( T, 10.0, false, function Spell_TIMER )
    // "false" means "one-shot timer"
endfunction