• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

Pros & Cons on different methods of passing data

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 7
Just learning Jass/vJass atm. In GUI I would mostly use a periodic timer, adding units to a group and then doing stuff.

I guess with Jass, everyone just uses timers now. Whats the best method of passing data across? I used hashtables before in GUI. I've been told that the table system by Bribe is better. Also learnt about structs and passing them through arrays and handles.

Could someone please tell me the advantages and limitations of these methods and perhaps offer other methods. Please correct me if I am wrong on anything since I am still learning. (I prefer not to just copy and paste someone else's system since I kinda want to know how to do it myself or at least be able to understand the internal workings of the system.)

In vJASS you often work with a struct if you want to work with more data.
Like iterating through struct members, or attaching a struct to a timer.

Iterating though instances can happen like having a list[] of your struct,
or with a double linked list for example. These are two common methods.

Hashtable can be used to bind data to timers. TimerUtils could be used here, too.

Table can work like hashtable, and is just an abstraction of it to take more profit of single hashtables.

But hashtable is very powerful and not too often needed. For normal spells you usually don't need it.

I'm not really sure what to explain, but could you maybe explain this?

"Also learnt about structs and passing them through arrays and handles."

Maybe if you have an explicit question it will help a bit. :)

Level 7