1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the new Hive! Be advised that we're still working on the site. There are still many rough edges, so please bear with us.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The member Kam is making HIVE coasters. Take a look. For every coaster you buy, Hive gets $1.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. The poll for Icon Contest #14 - Seven Deadly Sins is out!
    Dismiss Notice
  5. The 25th Texturing Contest has started! Contestants are to create a skin representing a dark elf person/being or any construct related to it using the vanilla models or the custom ones found on the site.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Buy it, use it, break it, fix it, trash it, change it, mail - upgrade it. Join (Optionally) Paired Techtree Contest #11 - Techno Magic now!
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Voting squad, line up! Cast your vote on the poll for Modeling Contest #29 - Squads!
    Dismiss Notice
  8. Hero Contest #8 is up and running! This time it's a joint contest between artists and coders. Go here for team matchmaking.
    Dismiss Notice
  9. The poll for the theme of our StarCraft II Terraining Contest is up. Cast your note now!
    Dismiss Notice
  10. The ninth Concept Art Contest has launched. Enter now!
    Dismiss Notice

icuuc44.dll ?

Discussion in 'StarCraft Nexus' started by Vercas, Jul 28, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vercas

    Vercas
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,623
    Two hours after you posted in the news that Sc2 was released (2:30 AM I think...), my best friend called me from France (I am in Romania...) and he was VERY MAD.

    He said he bought the game (SC2) and he installed it, updated it and when he started the game, an error appeared saying he is missing icuuc44.dll (Or something like that... It was a phone conversation for god's sake...).
    Then he tried to open the launcher again and another error appeared saying the launcher cannot start.

    He called me again some minutes ago and told me he reinstalled the OS (Windows 7 Ultimate... x64 I think) and the game... and the problem persists.

    He will call me tomorrow and I would really like to have a solution.

    Can anyone help us (/him)? :con:
     
  2. samov

    samov
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
  3. Agarwa3n

    Agarwa3n
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Also make sure you have the latest graphic and sound drivers installed for your system.
     
  4. Vercas

    Vercas
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,623
    I will ask him... But I really doubt his drivers are outdated because he (just like me) have enabled windows update, which automatically downloads and updates all the drivers for us.
     
  5. Statharas

    Statharas
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    2,333
    DirectX ftw. Update it, and try update Video Card drivers.

    Tell him that.

    If it doesn't work, tell him to give you his PC specs.
     
  6. samov

    samov
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Go to Control Panel -> System -> Advanced -> Environment variables

    Scroll down to path and add the END

    C:\Program Files (x86)\StarCraft II\Support\

    BE CAREFULL NOT TO DELETE WHAT IS ALREADY THERE. YOU'll SCREW UP YOUR INSTALL.

    It should be able to find everything.

    AND UPDATE YOUR DRIVERS BY DOWNLOADING THEM FROM ATI and NVIDIA.
     
  7. Vercas

    Vercas
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,623
    2 x 2.2 GHz Intel Quad Core processors
    4 GB DDR2 RAM
    ATI Radeon HD 47xx... video card
    640 GB HDD
    And DirectX 10 or 11...

    I will ask him tomorrow if it's 10 or 11.
     
  8. BlinkBoy

    BlinkBoy

    3D Modeling Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,087
    tell him to try installing the digital download version, maybe his DVD copy has an issue
     
  9. HINDYhat

    HINDYhat
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,593
    It has nothing to do with his OS. I have the same one, and I'm running the game fine, despite there being some corrupted files after digital download, which can be repaired quickly using the SC2 repair tool.
     
  10. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    21,201
    The poster obviously has no idea and all he is saying. He admits that his friend is using W7 yet he then sprouts this garbage of it using DX 10 or 11...

    Windows 7 will always come with and use Direct X 11, it is windows vista that needs a service pack to enable direct X 11.

    Additionally he can not even post the missing dll name in a confirmed way, it is important we know the exact name of it.

    Your opperating system does not automatically update everything. Only some graphic driver updates are picked up and direct X is not updated automatically at all (unless it is a major revision like DX 10 to 11 which only the release version of DX11 will be updated to).

    Tell him to firstly go to the ATI website and manually download and update his graphic drivers using the lattest version of their drivers that support his make of card. Then tell him to go to the direct X website and download the lattest direct X update for direct X 11. Also tell him to make sure he has not disabled any OS modules, that he should run the game as an administrator and to make sure his anti virus software is not blocking it.

    Anymore help we will need the exact errors he is getting.
     
  11. Raizen

    Raizen
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    just tell him to download the latest drivers and directx and se if they are updated which i seriously doubt they arent and se if that will fix the problem. Google is the answer.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2010
  12. Rainbow Evil

    Rainbow Evil
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    405
    Call the Blizzard technical support?
     
  13. Agarwa3n

    Agarwa3n
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    ATI 4XXX series do not support directX 11. 5XXX do.
     
  14. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    21,201
    Agarwa3n your point being?

    Just because a card does not permit the lattest features does not mean the software driving it is not the lattest. As you know DirectX 11 allows for improved threading performance as well as axcess to Direct Compute to any DirectX 10 or newer card. However it is true that tessilisation shader processes are not available on cards that support direct X10 and 10.1.
     
  15. Vercas

    Vercas
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,623
    I talked to him and he said he has DirectX 10 because he had some serious problems with DirectX 11.
    He said his drivers are also the latest available and he also has all Acer drivers installed.
    (And he confirmed it is 4GB DDR3 RAM -- not DDR2)

    And I supplied the DLL name correctly. icuuc44.dll !

    Rainbow_Evil, if he calls the technical support, what language is he going to use? He's not good at Romanian, but English? Lmao...

    Edit:
    Google-ing for icuuc44.dll, I've found the next facts:
    • A lot of people have problems with this DLL
    • Noone found a working solution
    • No download links are provided
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  16. Nuster

    Nuster
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Does any of u know if DX 11 work with GeForce G210

    Cos pretty much i got same problem with missing icuuc44.dll...
     
  17. JakeCake

    JakeCake
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    425
    I hope he have tried to reinstall the game a few times..
     
  18. Vercas

    Vercas
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,623
    Three times.

    He is really a Starcraft fan... He said he would do anything to try Starcraft 2.
     
  19. Dr Super Good

    Dr Super Good
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    21,201
    Ok, this dll must be part of some other dll or part of SC2.

    Nuster, DX 11 will work with every graphic card. Even DX 9 graphic cards should use DX11 although most of the added features will be disabled in them (in this case only DX9l will be usable from the DX11 library).

    The geforce 210 will support some of the features of DX11, just like my Geforce 275 GTX supports some of them. It however does not support use of the DX11 tessilistation stage that fully DX11 hardware does but it still gains the improved threading boost and the direct compute functionality.

    I am sure windows 7 only works with DirectX 11, it was vista that needed a service pack to use 11. If for some strange reason he is unable to update to directX 11, then that is 95% likly to be the problem as SC2 was made using prety new directX SDKs so he will be stuck using an historic version of directX. Once again, just because your card supports directX 10 does not mean it will not run directX 11 as some of directX 11 features are fully backwards compatible with directX 10 (software changes).

    The module sounds like a local Dll loaded from an MPQ maybe in starcraft II. I advise installing the game as an admin, adding it to anti virus expections and trying to run the game as an administrator. If this does not work then something in your computer must not support the game and you should contact the makers to see if drivers will come to fix that.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2010
  20. Vercas

    Vercas
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,623
    I convinced him to try and install DirectX 11.
    I'll report the result when I can.
    (I've got grounded again...)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.