• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Ask a Fansubber (almost) anything

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 28
Why hello there,

I'm a fansubber; means I put subtitles on japanese animation series and movies.
I've been working with them for about six years now and touched almost every "role" besides translating since I don't really understand much Japanese.

I run a project myself and have been involved with 20+ groups until today, accumulating to over 1300 episodes I've worked on, spanning across over 100 series.
Most fansubbers will face you with an asshole attitude when being asked how they do stuff - which is frankly very interesting stuff - but I'm still sane to a degree, so I won't give you the middle finger if asked how to typeset, encode from a Bluray/DVD, fixing video issues or where my waifu is from.
Due to legal issues, I can't link to torrents or places where you can download anime but other than that, I'm open to almost any question.

Chaosy

Tutorial Reviewer
Level 40
I find it a bit confusing.
You say you're a fansubber but you don't know japanese? how can you put subtitles then?

Okay. REAL question:
What motivates you to do that? as far as I know you get nothing out of it, and I can't imagine it being fun. Some that translate manga asks for donations but I have never seen a fansub do that.

Level 28
I find it a bit confusing.
You say you're a fansubber but you don't know japanese? how can you put subtitles then?