• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • It's time for the first HD Modeling Contest of 2024. Join the theme discussion for Hive's HD Modeling Contest #6! Click here to post your idea!

[JASS] Using a single group for everything.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 2
I am new to JASS and don't know that many commands yet. In my previus post i learned from Dr Super Good that it is possible to use a single group for the whole map, by just re-using it over and over and thus not having to create new groups, since these, even when removed, nullified and/or cleared, causes a leak. I would want to know how to do this, because, the only way i know so far is by creating a group, and adding them to the universal one, which doesn't help in any way. If Dr Super Good or anyone else could tell me how to do this, I would be very gratefull.

Level 17
You can use only one static group never destroyed, as long you only need to enum units instantly, and don't need them during time.

Usually, we use a GroupEnum + a null filter, and then a FirstOfGroup/GroupRemoveUnit loop :

JASS:
local unit u

call GroupEnum...(YOUR_STATIC_GROUP,null)
loop
set u = FirstOfGroup(YOUR_STATIC_GROUP)
exitwhen u == null
    // do your stuff here with u
endloop
In case of triggered spells, you would probably remove the caster from the group before remove it (no need to check if it was inside or not).

The reason why we use a null filter (which is equal to a function which takes nothing and returns true) instead of using a "valid" filter, is because it's more efficient, and it doesn't split your code, so you don't have to use temp globals variables, you can keep your locals.
It is more efficient because each enum with a not null filter opens a new thread.