• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Where to start?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 1
I'm brand new to the map making program, and don't know where exactly to start. I messed around with the terrain and got fairly use to it. What now, what very simple things should i try to get the hang of. Please help me :infl_thumbs_up:
Thanx :thumbs_up:

Level 2
Hi chaosangel. Welcome to the world editor. Yes, as you mentioned, the terrain editor is very easy to use. I suggest that the next thing you should do is mess around with the object editor a little. Just find the object editor, go to the units tab, and select a unit. Then you can just muck around with changing the damage of the unit, the health, the name, maybe the model, which abilities it has etc. Using the object editor is very simple because everything is self explanatory pretty much. Like it says Unit - Model (or something like that), so you know that the thing that you choose it to be will change the model of the unit (the model is just what it looks like). Then you can start fiddling with spells and stuff, and start changing some basic things about spells like the damage they do, and the projectile speed. Good luck!

Level 12