• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

Texture changes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 3
OK, not exactly sure how to put this. It's difficult to describe without looking at the specific model.

I'm new to model editing(Keep that in mind).
I'm editing the timber wolf model(and skin texture). I messed around with the skin's colors, followed the tutorial to set the UV mapping in Oinkerwinkle's vertex editor (I didn't change anything because it seemed fine, I just loaded the image), then imported it back to the model in Magos. Upon looking at the model, i was puzzled. The edges of the fur ruffs around the neck and on the legs were flat, not somewhat real-looking like they had been with the original skin. Was it because I just used the default mapping? I only edited the colors on the skin.

Level 31
I make you a little tutorial.
Here you go:

At first open the model in Magos Model Editor.
Now click on Window -> Material Manager.

93279d1291040030-texture-changes-tut-1-magosmodeleditor.jpg

Now search for the Material that uses the TimberWolf texture.
(In my case it was the first Material)
Double-Click on that Material.

93280d1291040030-texture-changes-tut-2-material-manager.jpg

At the new window, just again double click on the MaterialLayer.

93281d1291040030-texture-changes-tut-3-material.jpg

Now you see a window which offers you some information on your Material.

93282d1291040030-texture-changes-tut-4-materiallayer.jpg