• 🏆 Texturing Contest #33 is OPEN! Contestants must re-texture a SD unit model found in-game (Warcraft 3 Classic), recreating the unit into a peaceful NPC version. 🔗Click here to enter!
  • 🏆 Hive's 6th HD Modeling Contest: Mechanical is now open! Design and model a mechanical creature, mechanized animal, a futuristic robotic being, or anything else your imagination can tinker with! 📅 Submissions close on June 30, 2024. Don't miss this opportunity to let your creativity shine! Enter now and show us your mechanical masterpiece! 🔗 Click here to enter!

[Trigger] Storing and loading unit values

Status
Not open for further replies.
Level 6
I had an idea for a summoning system for my rpg that I'm making but can't figure out how to create this trigger. I'm not very good at triggering. My idea is that a player types a message similar to "Summon Demon" as a substring. What I think I need is a hastable or game cache to store a list of units that can be saved as a substring and called up when a message similar to the example are typed. If I didn't explain good enough or this was too confusing feel free to reply or send me a message. Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

Level 3
From the sounds of it, you want players to be able to summon (and presumably Return) units during play, and they summon them via text commands?

It doesn't necessarily require a hashtable or game cache.

When a player types a chat message, you check for the substring of Summon. You take the rest of the player's message as how you find What to summon. So I'd have it loop through a String array until it finds a match. It will then summon the unit, in the case of a specific unit, it takes it from a Unit array and moves it into play, in the case of a unit-type, it takes it from a Unit-Type array and creates a new unit.

Got that?

• Summon Unit
    • Events
      • Player - Player 1 (Red) types a chat message containing Summon as A substring
    • Conditions